SC Teacher of the Year finalists announced

COLUMBIA, S.C. (AP) - The five finalists for South Carolina's Teacher of the Year award include three elementary, one high school and one middle school teacher.

The state Education Department announced the finalists Monday.

They are elementary Spanish teacher Kelly Nalley of Greenville, fourth-grade teacher Melody Johnson of Lugoff, fifth-grade teacher Julia Marshall of Rock Hill, Spartanburg High English teacher Samantha Maddox, and middle school teacher Libby Ortmann of Sumter.

They were chosen from 83 district-level winners.

The winner will be announced April 18. She will receive $25,000, use of a BMW for a year, and serve a 1-year residency at the Center for Educator Recruitment, Retention and Advancement at Winthrop University in Rock Hill. The four other finalists will receive $10,000 each.

Copyright 2010 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.