SC ETV to feature state teacher finalists

COLUMBIA, S.C. (AP) - South Carolina's public television station is featuring the five finalists for the state Teacher of the Year award.

This month's "In our Schools" television show on South Carolina ETV will include interviews with the finalists.

They are Kelly Nalley of Fork Shoals School in Pelzer, Melody Johnson of Lugoff Elementary, Julia Goodman Marshall of Oakdale Elementary in Rock Hill, Samantha Maddox of Spartanburg High school and Libby Ortmann of Alice Drive Middle in Sumter.

The winner will be announced Wednesday in Columbia. She will serve a 1-year residency at the state Center for Educator Recruitment, Retention and Advancement. The winner will also receive $25,000 and a BMW X5 48i to use for a year.

The hourlong show airs at 1 p.m. Sunday.

Copyright 2010 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.