Charleston County expands recycling to include all plastic containers

CHARLESTON, SC (WCSC) - Charleston County's Environmental Management Department announced an expansion of its recycling program Wednesday.

The program will now accept all containers with the plastic designation symbol Nos. 1-7, beginning immediately. This means that all plastics, except plastic wrap, bags and Styrofoam, will be collected. Previously, only No. 1 and 2 plastic bottles were collected.

With the expansion, all hard and soft plastic containers with any number inside the recycling logo will be accepted.

Here is how to recycle plastics in Charleston County:

  • Residents with curbside service can now place all plastic containers in their co-mingled bin (non-sorted bin of glass, aluminum, steel, tin, aerosol cans and all plastics container) at the curb alongside their separate bin or bags of paper, paperboard and cardboard recyclables.
  • Residents who use any of Charleston County's drop site containers should add all newly accepted plastics in the co-mingled side of the drop site.
  • Curbside recycling in Charleston County is collected bi-weekly in urban areas starting at 7 a.m.
  • Residents in the rural parts of the County can utilize drop sites and Convenience Centers for recycling services. Drop site locations are open 24 hours, seven days a week and are not staffed. Convenience Centers are staffed by Environmental Management Department employees.

Residents can call (843) 720-7111 or visit to find out their recycling collection day, the nearest drop site location, and Convenience Center addresses and hours of operation.

©2010 WCSC. All rights reserved.