Charleston police recognizing top officers, staff, volunteers

CHARLESTON, SC (WCSC) - The Charleston Police Department has recognized its top performing officers, staff and volunteers who work each and every day to keep the public safe.

Charleston Police Chief Greg Mullen presented several awards in the main auditorium of Burke High School on President Street. One of the big awards was the Police Officer of the Year, which went to 28-year-old Russell Frierson.

This is Frierson's second time receiving the honor since joining the department more than five years ago.

Awards were also given to Rachel Hurlbutt for Civilian of the Year, Dave Malara for Community Services Officer of the Year, Jeffery Miller for Forensic Services Technician of the year, Nicole Williams for Dispatcher of the year, Caitlin McKee for Citizen of the Year and Adam Slizewski for Probationary Officer of the Year.

Copyright WCSC 2011. All rights reserved.