SC Forestry Commission issues 'Red Flag Fire Alert'

File photo
File photo

CHARLESTON, SC (WCSC) - Despite the heavy rain on Friday, the South Carolina Forestry Commission is issuing a Red Flag Fire Alert for all counties within the Live 5 News viewing area.

That includes counties: Charleston, Colleton, Berkeley, Dorchester, Georgetown, Beaufort, Orangeburg, and Williamsburg.

A Red Flag Fire Alert does not necessarily outlaw outdoor burning.  It means that Fire Management staff with the Forestry Commission strongly advises postponing outdoor burning until weather and fuel conditions improve.

Be advised, however, that there are a few counties where local ordinances do ban outdoor burning under Red Flag conditions, officials said.

This Alert remains in effect until further notice.  Suspected wildfires should be promptly reported to 911 or the Forestry Commission Dispatch Center, 1-800-777-FIRE.

Copyright WCSC 2012.  All rights reserved.