Gamecocks picked 2nd in SEC East - Live5News.com | Charleston, SC | News, Weather, Sports

Gamecocks picked 2nd in SEC East

Posted: Updated:

The University of South Carolina placed seven players on the 2012 preseason All-SEC squads, as selected by the media attending the annual Southeastern Conference Media Days, it was announced today.

The Gamecocks were led by a pair of first-team selections in running back Marcus Lattimore and defensive end Jadeveon Clowney. Lattimore, a six-foot, 218-pound junior from Duncan, S.C., was the top vote-getter in the league, garnering 201 out of 222 votes. The 222 voters were the most in SEC Media Days history. Clowney, a 6-6, 256-pound sophomore from Rock Hill, S.C., received the most votes (140) among the defensive linemen. Both Lattimore and Clowney were also named to the preseason first-team All-SEC squad as selected by the league's coaches last week.

Four Gamecocks earned preseason second team accolades according to the media. The quartet includes senior offensive center T.J. Johnson, a 6-6, 319-pounder from Aynor, S.C.; senior defensive end Devin Taylor, a 6-8, 267-pounder from Beaufort, S.C.; senior safety D.J. Swearinger, a six-foot, 210-pounder from Greenwood, S.C., and Bruce Ellington, a 5-9, 197-pound sophomore all-purpose back from Moncks Corner, S.C.

Outside linebacker DeVonte Holloman, a 6-2, 241-pound senior from Charlotte, N.C., was the Gamecocks' lone representative on the third team squad as selected by the media. 

The Gamecocks are picked to finish second in the Eastern Division behind Georgia. Georgia received 132 first-place votes and 1,434 points, while Carolina garnered 72 first place votes and 1,358 points. Florida, Missouri, Tennessee, Vanderbilt and Kentucky were picked to finish third through seventh, respectively.


* - 222 voters Is an all-time high for SEC media days. The previous high was 177 voters in 2010.

* - South Carolina's Marcus Lattimore was the leading vote-getter this season with 201 of 222 votes. He is the fourth running back in the last six years to be the highest vote-getter (2007 - Darren McFadden, Arkansas; 2008 - Knowshon Moreno, Georgia & Percy Harvin, Florida; 2009 - Tim Tebow & Brandon Spikes, Florida; 2010 - Mark Ingram, Alabama; 2011 - Alshon Jeffery, South Carolina).

* - South Carolina's Lattimore (2012) and Jeffery (2011) have been the leading vote-getters the last two seasons.

* - Alabama's Barrett Jones is a three-time member of the SEC Media Days First-Team

* - South Carolina has had a sophomore make SEC Media Days First-Team for the third straight season - Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina, DE (2012); Marcus Lattimore, South Carolina, RB (2011); Stephon Gilmore, South Carolina, DB (2010).

* - Since 2000, Arkansas' Darren McFadden is the only unanimous selection to the SEC Media Days Team, collecting all 80 votes.

* - LSU had the most first-team selections this season with 7. Since 1992, the most players on a first-team were 9 by Alabama last season and 8 by Alabama (2010) and Florida (2009).

* - LSU leads with the most overall selections this season with 13. The total is the second highest ever, behind Alabama's 16 last season. Prior to last season, Alabama (2010) and Florida (2009) had the most overall selections.

* - LSU is predicted to win the SEC Championship by the media for the first time since 2007. It is the second time since 1992 that LSU has been predicted to win the league title. LSU did win the SEC title in 2007 and went on to the BCS title.

Predicted Order of Finish - SEC Champion

Team Points

1. LSU 129

2. Alabama 65

3. Georgia 14

4. South Carolina 6

5. Arkansas 4

6. Auburn 2

T7. Florida 1

T7. Ole Miss 1

Eastern Division (First Place Votes) Team Points

1. Georgia (132) 1434

2. South Carolina (72) 1358

3. Florida (12) 1045

4. Missouri (2) 797

5. Tennessee (4) 718

6. Vanderbilt 598

7. Kentucky 266

Western Division (First Place Votes) Team Points

1. LSU (139) 1449

2. Alabama (72) 1379

3. Arkansas (6) 1093

4. Auburn (4) 827

5. Texas A&M 653

6. Mississippi State 554

7. Ole Miss (1) 261

Powered by WorldNow