Lowcountry fire departments sign mutual aid pact

NORTH CHARLESTON, S.C. (AP) - Fire departments in the Charleston area are lending each other a helping hand.

Five fire departments in the area on Monday sign a new agreement under which they will automatically provide assistance during emergencies.

The departments include Charleston and North Charleston as well as the Saint Andrews and James Island public service districts and the St. John's Fire District.

The agreement is being signed at the North Charleston and American LaFrance Fire Museum in North Charleston.

Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.