Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame to Induct Three New Members on - Live5News.com | Charleston, SC | News, Weather, Sports

Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame to Induct Three New Members on Aug. 10


James Islanders Gettys Glaze and Tom Hatley, along with native Charlestonian John Rhodes, have been voted by local fans as members of the Class of 2012 for the Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame. 

Formal induction into the Hall of Fame will take place on the field of Joseph P. Riley, Jr. Park on Friday, August 10, prior to the Charleston RiverDogs – Hagerstown Suns game that begins at 7:05 p.m. 

Glaze was a standout on The Citadel's 1990 College World Series team and was one of the few players ever to pitch and catch in the same game of the CWS.  He was a 15th round draft pick of the Boston Red Sox in 1992 and was inducted in 2007 as a member of The Citadel Athletic Hall of Fame.  He joins his older brother, Lee, in the Hall and become the first-ever siblings inducted.

The longtime (24 years) James Island High baseball coach, Hatley led the Trojans to AAA state titles in 1994 and 1996, the lower state title in '99 and nine region championships. A former assistant to Citadel coach and Charleston Baseball Hall of Famer Chal Port (1981-83, 89-91), Hatley continues to coach at James Island Charter High where he has collected 453 wins in his career.  He was the overall state coach of the year in 1996 and '99, and was the Class AAAA coach of the year twice and twice the Class AAA coach of the year.  Hatley is also a past president of SC High School Baseball Coaches Association. 

A native Charlestonian who coached high school baseball at Wando and Bishop England high schools, Rhodes served as a scout for the Cincinnati Reds before guiding several local American Legion teams to state championships.  Rhodes is best known as the director and coach of the Diamond Devils, a nationally-recognized travel baseball program that he founded in 1999.  His Diamond Devils teams have won eight national championships and included six first round draft picks in Drew Meyer, Matt Campbell, Daniel Bard, Matt Wieters, Justin Smoak and Reese Havens.  More than 300 of his players have participated on the Division I level and 50 of them have been drafted.  Rhodes is a member of the Continental Amateur Baseball Association Hall of Fame. 

An advisory committee consisting of knowledgeable and local volunteers was created to come up with nine names as potential nominees.  Voting was conducted by fans through an official ballot that appeared at the ball park and online.  

The Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame is coordinated and operated by the RiverDogs.  The Hall of Fame is located inside Joseph P. Riley, Jr. Park. 

In the Hall of Fame's inaugural year in 2003, James Island's Gorman Thomas and Holly Hill's Willie Randolph were enshrined as the first members.  David Cone was inducted in 2004 and John Candelaria received the nod in 2005.  Ty Cline, Mike Cook, Gary McJunkin and Coach Chal Port comprised the Hall of Fame's Class of 2006, marking the first time that amateurs and teams were considered for induction. 

In 2007, the 1955 Cannon Street YMCA All-Star team and The Citadel's 1990 College World Series team, Modie Risher and Anthony Jenkins were enshrined.  In 2008, Bryce Florie, Danny Jones, Charley Smith and Richard Wieters were inducted, and last year, the Hall of Fame welcomed John Dodds, Jr., W.S. "Bull" Durham, Donald Morillo and Doug Pounder.

Lee Glaze of James Island and The Citadel, Citadel coach Fred Jordan, American Legion coach D.K. Walters and Coach Kenny Wilkinson were enshrined in 2010 while William Ackerman, Roberto Alomar and Mike Kimbrell earned the nod in 2011.






2012 – Gettys Glaze

Tom Hatley

            John Rhodes


2011 – William Ackerman

            Roberto Alomar

            Mike Kimbrell


2010 – Lee Glaze

Fred Jordan

D.K. Walters

Kenny Wilkinson


2009 – John Dodds, Jr.

            W.S. "Bull" Durham

            Donald Morillo

            Doug Pounder


2008 – Bryce Florie

            Danny Jones

            Charley Smith

            Richard Wieters


2007 – 1955 Cannon Street YMCA All-Star Team

            1990 Citadel World Series Team

            Anthony Jenkins

Modie Risher


2006 – Ty Cline

            Mike Cook

            Gary McJunkin

            Chal Port


2005 – John Candelaria


2004 – David Cone


2003 – Willie Randolph

Gorman Thomas       

Powered by Frankly