Quantcast

College of Charleston Releases 2013 Baseball Schedule - Live5News.com | Charleston, SC | News, Weather, Sports

College of Charleston Releases 2013 Baseball Schedule

Posted: Updated:
CHARLESTON, SC -

College of Charleston baseball coach Monte Lee has announced the 2013 baseball schedule. 

With 33 home games and an exciting non-conference slate, the Cougars will look to continue the success from last season's Southern Conference Regular Season Co-Championship and trip to the NCAA Tournament Gainesville Regional.

"We are extremely excited about our 2013 schedule," Lee said. "We are once again playing a high-quality non-conference schedule with a tournament at Auburn, home-and-homes with national championship runner-up South Carolina and NCAA tournament participants Coastal Carolina and UNC-Wilmington. You add in the very tough Southern Conference slate and we have an exciting and challenging 2013 season in front of us."

The Cougars will open the season on Feb. 15 with a home series against Xavier, a team that CofC defeated 4-1 in a home tournament last season. After a road game at Charleston Southern, College of Charleston will travel to Auburn, Ala., to play in a tournament featuring host Auburn, Indiana State and Middle Tennessee State from Feb. 22-24.

College of Charleston last faced the Tigers and former CofC head coach John Pawlowski in a 2011 game that Auburn won, 7-4.

After a midweek road game at Jacksonville, College of Charleston will host South Alabama, a squad the Cougars swept in 2012, for a weekend series on March 1-3. CofC then stays home for midweek games against 2012 NCAA Tournament participant UNC Wilmington and Charleston Southern. 

A weekend series against Elon will once again open the SoCon slate as the Cougars travel to Elon on March 8-10.

College of Charleston will then feature a crucial nine-game home stand with weekend series' against Western Carolina (March 15-17) and 2012 SoCon Co-Champion Appalachian State (March 24-26). The weekday games will bring the University of Connecticut back to Charleston on March 19, and then the Cougars renew the traditional mid-week, non-conference game against crosstown rival Citadel (March 20).

The home stand will conclude with a game versus the 2012 national runners-up and former two-time national champion South Carolina Gamecocks on Tuesday, March 26 at 6 p.m.

CofC's challenging week continues that Friday, March 29, with a road series against Samford, the 2012 SoCon Tournament winners. 

The Cougars then host UNC Greensboro, travel to Davidson and play home against Furman in the next three conference weekends. Mid-week road games at Coastal Carolina (April 9) and South Carolina (April 16) will continue to give CofC non-conference RPI opportunities. Last season, CofC defeated then-no. 8 South Carolina on the road by a score of 4-3. 

College of Charleston will host Coastal Carolina on Wednesday, April 24, and then play at home versus Radford during the off weekend of SoCon play.

The Cougars' SoCon series against The Citadel will be May 10-12 at Joseph P. Riley Park in downtown Charleston. College of Charleston will conclude the regular season with a home series against annual contender Georgia Southern on May 16-18.

The 2013 Southern Conference tournament will again be held at Fluor Field in Greenville, S.C.

Fans can get their first look at the 2013 Cougars at the Fall World Series on Oct. 26-28, 2012. The exhibition intrasquad games will begin at 6 p.m., 2 p.m. and 1 p.m., respectively.

 

 

2013 College of Charleston Baseball Schedule
DATE DAY OPPONENT LOCATION TIME
Feb. 15 Friday Xavier Patriots Point 6 pm
Feb. 16 Saturday Xavier Patriots Point 2 pm
Feb. 17 Sunday Xavier Patriots Point 1 pm
Feb. 19 Tuesday at Charleston Southern North Charleston, S.C. 2 pm
Auburn Tournament, Auburn, Ala.
Feb. 22 Friday vs. Indiana State Auburn, Ala. 3 pm
Feb. 23 Saturday at Auburn Auburn, Ala. 2 pm
Feb. 24 Sunday vs. Middle Tennessee State Auburn, Ala. 11 am
Feb. 26 Tuesday at Jacksonville Jacksonville, Fla. 4 pm
Mar 1 Friday South Alabama Patriots Point 6 pm
Mar 2 Saturday South Alabama Patriots Point 2 pm
Mar 3 Sunday South Alabama Patriots Point 1 pm
Mar 5 Tuesday UNC Wilmington Patriots Point 4 pm
Mar 6 Wednesday Charleston Southern Patriots Point 4 pm
Mar 8 Friday at Elon* Burlington, N.C. 4 pm
Mar 9 Saturday at Elon* Burlington, N.C. 2 pm
Mar 10 Sunday at Elon* Burlington, N.C. 1 pm
Mar 15 Friday Western Carolina* Patriots Point 6 pm
Mar 16 Saturday Western Carolina* Patriots Point 2 pm
Mar 17 Sunday Western Carolina* Patriots Point 1 pm
Mar 19 Tuesday Connecticut Patriots Point 6 pm
Mar 20 Wednesday The Citadel Patriots Point 6 pm
Mar 22 Friday Appalachian State* Patriots Point 6 pm
Mar 23 Saturday Appalachian State* Patriots Point 2 pm
Mar 24 Sunday Appalachian State* Patriots Point 1 pm
Mar 26 Tuesday South Carolina Patriots Point 6 pm
Mar 29 Friday at Samford* Birmingham, Ala. 6 pm
Mar 30 Saturday at Samford (DH)* Birmingham, Ala. 2 pm
Apr 2 Tuesday at UNC Wilmington Wilmington, N.C. 6 pm
Apr 5 Friday UNC Greensboro* Patriots Point 6 pm
Apr 6 Saturday UNC Greensboro* Patriots Point 6 pm
Apr 7 Sunday UNC Greensboro* Patriots Point 1 pm
Apr 9 Tuesday at Coastal Carolina Conway, S.C. 6 pm
Apr 12 Friday at Davidson* Davidson, N.C. 6 pm
Apr 13 Saturday at Davidson* Davidson, N.C. 2 pm
Apr 14 Sunday at Davidson* Davidson, N.C. 1 pm
Apr 16 Tuesday at South Carolina Columbia, S.C. 7 pm
Apr 19 Friday Furman* Patriots Point 6 pm
Apr 20 Saturday Furman* Patriots Point 2 pm
Apr 21 Sunday Furman* Patriots Point 1 pm
Apr 24 Wednesday Coastal Carolina Patriots Point 6 pm
Apr 27 Saturday Radford (DH) Patriots Point 4 pm
Apr 28 Sunday Radford Patriots Point Noon
May 3 Friday at Wofford* Spartanburg, S.C. 7 pm
May 4 Saturday at Wofford* Spartanburg, S.C. 3 pm
May 5 Sunday at Wofford* Spartanburg, S.C. 1 pm
May 7 Tuesday Campbell Patriots Point 4 pm
May 8 Wednesday Savannah State Patriots Point 6 pm
May 10 Friday at The Citadel* Charleston, S.C. 6 pm
May 11 Saturday at The Citadel* Charleston, S.C. 2 pm
May 12 Sunday at The Citadel* Charleston, S.C. 1 pm
May 14 Tuesday Jacksonville Patriots Point 6 pm
May 16 Thursday Georgia Southern* Patriots Point 6 pm
May 17 Friday Georgia Southern* Patriots Point 2 pm
May 18 Saturday Georgia Southern* Patriots Point 1 pm
May 22-26 Wed-Sun Southern Conference Tournament Greenville, S.C. TBA


 

Powered by WorldNow