Chicago Fire to Participate in 2013 Carolina Challenge Cup - Live5News.com | Charleston, SC | News, Weather, Sports

Chicago Fire to Participate in 2013 Carolina Challenge Cup

Posted: Updated:

The Chicago Fire Soccer Club will participate in the 2013 Carolina Challenge Cup, hosted by USL PRO's Charleston Battery at Blackbaud Stadium in Charleston, S.C. from February 16 through February 23.  The Fire will join the Battery, and two MLS sides to be named later for three matches on Feb. 16, 20 and 23 for the 10th edition of the United States' premier preseason tournament. 

In the 2012 edition, the Men in Red went 1-1-0 in the round robin competition, falling 1-0 to D.C. United before defeating the Columbus Crew 1-0. The third match against the Charleston Battery was cancelled due to severe thunderstorms.

The Fire previously played two close Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup encounters with Charleston Battery, downing the Battery 1-0 in extra time on August 25, 2004 at Cardinal Stadium in Naperville, Ill. and drawing 0-0 and eventually falling on penalties on June 30, 2010.

The Charleston Battery were crowned 2012 USL Pro champions with a 1-0 win against the Wilmington Hammerheads Sept. 8.


Carolina Challenge Cup Tickets

Carolina Challenge Cup tickets will go on sale Monday, December 3 at 10 AM.  For more information please call (843) 971-GOAL (4625) or visit www.charlestonbattery.com.


All-Time Participants (Champions bolded) 
2004: Charleston Battery (USL), Columbus Crew (MLS), D.C. United (MLS), Wilmington Hammerheads (USL) 
2005: Charleston Battery (USL), Columbus Crew (MLS), D.C. United (MLS), SJ Earthquakes (MLS) 
2006: Charleston Battery (USL), NY Red Bulls (MLS), D.C. United (MLS), Houston Dynamo (MLS) 
2007: Charleston Battery (USL), NY Red Bulls (MLS), Houston Dynamo (MLS), Toronto FC (MLS) 
2008: Charleston Battery (USL), NY Red Bulls (MLS), SJ Earthquakes (MLS), Toronto FC (MLS) 
2009: Charleston Battery (USL), D.C. United (MLS), Real Salt Lake (MLS), Toronto FC (MLS) 
2010: Charleston Battery (USL), D.C. United (MLS), Real Salt Lake (MLS), Toronto FC (MLS) 
2011: Charleston Battery (USL), Chicago Fire (MLS), D.C. United (MLS), Toronto FC (MLS)

2012: Charleston Battery (USL), Chicago Fire (MLS), D.C. United (MLS), Columbus Crew (MLS)

2013: Charleston Battery (USL), Chicago Fire (MLS) plus two more MLS sides to be announced.

Powered by WorldNow