Filing officially opens in SC's 1st District

CHARLESTON, S.C. (WCSC/AP) - The filing period is set to begin for those who want to enter the crowded race for South Carolina's vacant 1st Congressional District seat.

While a number of candidates have already announced, including former Gov. Mark Sanford, who once held the seat, the filing officially opens at noon on Friday.

The crowded field includes: Larry Grooms, Chip Limehouse, Ray Nash, Peter McCoy, Curtis Bostic, Teddy Turner, Larry Kobrovsky, Keith Blandford, Jeff King, Bob Menges, John Kuhn, and Elizabeth Moffly.

Former SC Treasurer Thomas Ravenel and Carol 'Tumpy' Campbell III are also said to be mulling a run for the seat left vacant when Gov. Nikki Haley appointed Rep. Tim Scott to fill the U.S. Senate seat, following Jim DeMint's resignation to take over leadership of the Heritage Foundation, a conservative think-tank in Washington, DC.

The district runs along the state's south coast from the Hilton Head Island to the southern border of Georgetown County.

The filing period closes at noon on Jan. 28 with primaries set for March 19. If needed, primary runoffs will be held April 3 with the special election set for May 17.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.