SCSU names committee to find new president

ORANGEBURG, SC (WCSC) - South Carolina State University has named a 14-member committee to search for a new president.

The university has been without a permanent president since the resignation of George Cooper, in March 2012.

Rita Teal served as acting president until early last July, when Cynthia Warrick was named interim president.

The committee has not set an exact date for appointing a new president, but the university's board chairman, Walter Tobin, said the new president could be named as early as this April.

If that were the case, the president would take office in July.

Copyright 2013 WCSC.  All rights reserved.