2013 National Signing Day Central - Live5News.com | Charleston, SC | News, Weather, Sports

2013 National Signing Day Central


A number of high school football players across the nation are making a decision today that could very well affect the rest of their lives.

February 6 is National Signing Day, and athletes throughout the Lowcountry are declaring where they will play college football. Students will choose a college that has offered them a scholarship and sign a letter of intent.

The action kicked-off early this morning at Goose Creek High School. The football team, who went undefeated in 2012 but found themselves disqualified in the playoffs due to an ineligible player, saw nine players sign Wednesday.

  • Rashard Alston – Newberry
  • Deshawn Evans – Arizona Western Junior College
  • Rodney Garret – Brevard
  • Octavius Hayes – Mayville State University
  • Mike Myers – East Carolina University
  • Maliek Ravanell – Chowan
  • Dylan Steele – Brevard
  • Jalen Stevens – University of Connecticut
  • Tramel Terry – University of Georgia (Signed Dec. 7, 2012)
  • Gerald Turner – University of South Carolina

Fort Dorchester had four football players put the pen to paper Wednesday morning. Daitwan Commodore signed with Carson Newman, Charles Loftland to Limestone, T.J. Smith to Fort Union Military, and Baptiste Staggers is on his way to Newberry.

Wando High had 7 players sign National Letters of Intent on Wednesday headlined by Rudder Brown, who'll be staying in town at The Citadel, and Chuck Rouse who will be going upstate to Wofford. Also making commitments were Stephen Wilson (Presbyterian), Austin Fister and Nathaniel Wright (Tusculum College), RaShaun Brown (North Greenville) and Chris Leslie (Limestone). The school also announced 4 players will be walking on at the next level. Taylor Kimball (The Citadel), Blaine Thompson (Marshall), Ryan Marraccini (Averett) and Bryan Patrick (Berry College). 

Four players from Timberland made their commitments on Wednesday. The Wolves will be sending a trio of players to Newberry College. Isaac Ferguson, Austin McKinney and Brian Moore will all go on to play for the Wolves. Roderick McCray will also move to the next level at North Greenville. 

At Stratford High School, Shawn Peace signed his letter of intent for Newberry College.

Summerville had 3 players who will all be attending Limestone College. RB Jerod Tucker, OL Grant Wactor and DL Trey Privette

Academic Magnet's Stuart Walters signed his NLI to play at Johns Hopkins. The Raptors also had Kallie Peurifoy (Girl's Soccer) sign to Virginia Tech. Jon Glenn (Boys Soccer) will go to Boston University, Andrew Novak (Golf) signed with Wofford and Matt Houle (Golf) is heading to Randolf-Macon. 

At Bishop England, DeAngelo Stephenson is heading to Towson, Nick Theos to the Naval Academy Prep School, Kevin Herbst to Brevard, Zach Richter to N. Greenville, and Adam Dobbins will go to Wheaton.

Romelo Doctor, the all-time leading rusher for Ashley Ridge High School, will join many Lowcountry athletes at Newberry College.  Doctor is also thinking about playing basketball there.  Another Swamp Fox, Sara Butler signed her NLI to play softball at USC-Sumter.

Live 5 News will keep you updated on National Signing Day in the Lowcountry as more information becomes available.

Copyright 2013 WCSC. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly