Serena Williams Wins 3rd Family Circle Cup Title - Live5News.com | Charleston, SC | News, Weather, Sports

Serena Williams Wins 3rd Family Circle Cup Title

Mark Davenport Mark Davenport

Serena Williams started off slow on Sunday but came roaring back to beat Jelena Jankovic 3-6, 6-0, 6-2 to win her 2nd straight Family Circle Cup title and 3rd overall on Daniel Island. 

Williams won her 4th match in 3 days to take the title and extended her winning streak on Daniel Island to 15 in a row. 

It was Jankovic, a former FCC champion herself, who came out on fire early on. The Serbian broke Williams' serve twice in the first set to put Serena down a set. But Williams wasn't worried. 

"I felt so close in that first set.  Like I felt like I could have been up 3‑0." Williams said. "she was playing really, really well.  But it was just a shot here, a shot there and she played really well in the big points.  And I had so many opportunities that I missed.  And she took advantage of that, and she went on the glory in that first set."

But Williams would come roaring back, shutting Jankovic out in the 2nd set before going on to take the third set 6-2 led by her serve that reached as fast as 122 mph. Jankovic knows that she had chances to put Serena away.

"I gave her wins.  You know, I brought her back into the match because I should have done something different." Jankovic said. "I should have focused and just gotten those games because at 40‑15 on my serves or 40‑0, both times in the first game and the third and I managed to lose them.  So of course, she's going to go up and feel much better and she is again in control."

The victory puts Serena, already one of the greatest women's tennis players ever, into some lofty company in Family Circle Cup history. Her 3rd FCC title puts her in 3rd place all time just 1 behind Martina Navratilova and Steffi Graf for the 2nd most FCC wins ever. Only Chris Evert has more with 8 titles. However Serena is the only player to have won 3 times since the tournament moved to Charleston back in 2001. 

Serena also becomes the first player to repeat as the tournament champion since Conchita Martinez did it back in 1994 and 1995. 

Powered by Frankly