Three Bucs earn All-Big South honors - Live5News.com | Charleston, SC | News, Weather, Sports

Three Bucs earn All-Big South honors


Charleston Southern sophomore Bobby Ison and junior Zack Hagaman have been named to the 2013 All-Big South Conference first team, and starting pitcher Tory Schroff was named to the second team as part of the league's baseball awards banquet held at the club room of the Williams Stadium Tower on the campus of Liberty University on Monday night. Bucs' shortstop Alex Tomasovich was named to the Big South All-Academic Team.

The Bucs open their 2013 Big South Championship on Tuesday at 4:30 p.m. against top-seeded Campbell.

Ison, a sophomore from Goose Creek, S.C., earned First Team honors in the outfield after a standout campaign in his second season with the Buccaneers.

A freshman All-American a season ago, Ison built on last season’s success to lead Charleston Southern with a .367 batting average. Standing in as a left-handed batter in the box, Ison led the Big South Conference with 81 hits on the season in 221 at-bats. He added a team-high 14 doubles and two triples, while adding 27 RBI and 39 runs scored on the season. He was also 9-for-11 in stolen base attempts on the year, while starting all 54 games for the Buccaneers in centerfield.

In the Big South Conference statistical standings, Ison led the conference in hits with 81, while sitting second in total bases with 108 and fourth overall in batting average. He was also in the top 10 in multiple categories, including slugging percentage (.489, 7th), runs scored (t10th), doubles (9th). He also led the Big South in batting average with runners on base, hitting at a .459 clip from the plate when CSU was on the base paths.

Ison also had the claim to fame of leading the NCAA Division I with the distinction of being the toughest player to strikeout. In his 246 plate appearances, Ison struck out five times for an average of striking out once every 26 at-bats.

Hagaman also earned First Team laurels this season at the designated hitter position in his junior season with the Buccaneers.

The junior from Pawleys Island, S.C., exploded onto the scene this season in the DH spot for the Bucs in the series sweep over UNC Asheville which led to him earning Big South Choice Hotels Player of the Week honors for his performance against the Bulldogs. Hagaman hit .471 on the weekend against Asheville with eight hits, nine RBI, three doubles and three home runs in leading CSU to 6-2, 11-7 and 8-1 wins in the three-game home stand.

For the season, Hagaman led the Buccaneers and was tied for sixth in the Big South with six home runs on the year. He also added five doubles while driving in 28 RBI and scoring 29 runs with a team-best .516 slugging percentage. He also saw time on the mound, finishing the year with a 1-1 record with one save in 17 appearances on the rubber in a relief role for CSU.

Tory Schroff highlighted the Buccaneers on the Big South Second Team, earning a spot among the pitchers on the list.

Schroff established himself as one of the top weekend starters in the Big South this season and recorded eight outings on the mound this year where he allowed two or fewer earned runs. Highlights from this season include a dominant performance at home against Presbyterian where the lefty went 8.1 innings, scattering six hits against the Blue Hose, while striking out six batters in the CSU 1-0 victory. He also added a pair of nine strikeout performances against both Gardner-Webb and Radford.

Schroff led the Buccaneers with a 3.30 earned run average in 73.2 innings pitched on the season and finished in the top 10 in the Big South in two categories on the mound including strikeouts (70, 7th) and runners picked off (4, t6th).

Tomasovich earned All-Academic honors. He has a 3.68 GPA as a Business Management major at CSU. He has been named to the Big South Presidential Honor Roll four times.

VMI senior outfielder Rob Dickinson has been voted 2013 Big South Baseball Player of the Year, while Campbell skipper Greg Goff was tabbed the 2013 Coach of the Year by the League’s head coaches. The coaches voted Campbell hurler Ryan Thompson Pitcher of the Year and Coastal Carolina pitcher Seth Lamando the League’s Freshman of the Year. Justin . Creel of Coastal Carolina and Brad Zebedis of Presbyterian College were voted Co-Scholar-Athletes of the Year by the League’s sports information directors.

Dickinson, a senior from Richmond, Va., finished the 2013 regular-season as the League’s batting champion as he posted a .399 average at the plate. His 1.52 hits per game lead the Conference as he is also first in the League with 118 total bases. He posted seven long balls on the year to rank tied for No. 3 in the Big South, while his 46 RBI is also third. Dickinson slugged .596 to rank second in the Big South and posted an on-base percentage of .461 to rank third in the League. Dickinson totaled 79 total hits during the season to rank second in the League. He reached base 27-straight times from March 15-April 26 and notched a 14-game hitting streak during that span. Dickinson totaled four first-place votes to finish with 20 points, ahead of Jeff Kemp of Radford, who received two top bids and 17 points.

2013 Big South Conference Baseball Award Winners

First-Team All-Conference

OF: Rob Dickinson, VMI

OF: Bobby Ison, Charleston Southern

OF: Ben McQuown, Campbell

1B: Spencer Angelis, High Point

2B: Michael Felton, Campbell

3B: Elijah Trail, Campbell (tie)

3B: Alex Owens, Longwood (tie)

SS: Jeff Kemp, Radford

C: Trey Wimmer. Liberty

DH: Zack Hagaman, Charleston Southern

SP: Ryan Mattes, Campbell

SP: Ben Smith, Coastal Carolina

SP: Matt Fraudin, Gardner-Webb

RP: Ryan Thompson, Campbell

Second Team All-Conference

OF: Jacob May, Coastal Carolina

OF: Ryan Retz, High Point

OF: Clayton Brown, Campbell

1B: Brad Zebedis, Presbyterian College

2B: Bryan Aanderud, Liberty

3B: Chad Smith, Winthrop

SS: Brent Graham, Campbell

C: Will Remillard, Coastal Carolina (tie)

C:Matt Winn, VMI (tie)

DH: David Olson, Campbell

SP: Jacob Newberry, High Point

SP: Heath Bowers, Campbell

SP: Tory Schroff, Charleston Southern

RP: Ryan Connolly, Coastal Carolina

All-Academic Team

David Olson, Campbell

Alex Tomasovich, Charleston Southern

Justin Creel, Coastal Carolina

Andrew Barnett, Gardner-Webb

Will Resnik, High Point

Trey Lambert, Liberty

Brandon Vick, Longwood

Brad Zebedis, Presbyterian College

Tyler Costello, Radford

Dillon Tabar, UNC Asheville

Drew Bryan, VMI

Max Vogel, Winthrop

Player of the Year

Rob Dickinson, OF, VMI

Pitcher of the Year

Ryan Thompson, RP, Campbell

Freshman of the Year

Seth Lamando, RHP, Coastal Carolina

Co-Scholar-Athletes of the Year

Justin Creel, Coastal Carolina

Brad Zebedis, Presbyterian College

Coach of the Year

Greg Goff, Campbell

Powered by Frankly