Clowney, Beasley Named Lombardi Award Semifinalists - Live5News.com | Charleston, SC | News, Weather, Sports

Clowney, Beasley Named Lombardi Award Semifinalists

Posted: Updated:

University of South Carolina junior defensive end Jadeveon Clowney is among 12 players named as semifinalists for the 44th Rotary Lombardi Award, it was announced today.

Clowney, a 6-6, 274-pounder from Rock Hill, S.C., was a finalist for the award last season. He is among eight defensive and four offensive players announced as 2103 semifinalists today at the Rotary Club of Houston. The SEC leads the pack with four players, followed by the Pac-12 with three, the ACC two followed by the Big Ten and the Big 12 with one each and one Independent.

The 12 semifinalists are:
Anthony Barr                        Sr        LB       UCLA
Vic Beasley                           Jr        DE       Clemson
Jadeveon Clowney               Jr        DE       South Carolina
Aaron Donald                       Sr        DE       Pittsburgh
Taylor Lewan                        Sr        T         Michigan
Jake Matthews                      Sr        T         Texas A&M
CJ Mosley                              Sr        LB       Alabama
Trent Murphy                        Sr        LB       Stanford
Cyril Richardson                  Sr        G         Baylor
Michael Sam                         Sr        DE       Missouri
Kyle Van Noy                       Sr        LB       BYU
David Yankey                       Jr         T         Stanford
The 44th Lombardi Award will be held December 11, 2013, at the Wortham Center in Houston, Texas. For tickets and sponsorship information, visit www.rotarylombardiaward.org.
The Rotary Lombardi Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official Web site,www.NCFAA.org

Powered by WorldNow