Beasley and Watkins named to Semifinalists for awards - Live5News.com | Charleston, SC | News, Weather, Sports

Beasley and Watkins named to Semifinalists for awards

Junior defensive end Vic Beasley and junior receiver Sammy Watkins were  both been named semifinalists for national position awards on Monday.

Beasley is one of 18 players named to the Mid-season Watch List for the Ted Hendricks Award, the honor that goes to the top defensive end in the nation. Watkins has been named one of 10 semifinalists for the Biletnikoff Award, which goes to the top wide receiver in the nation.

This is the third 2013 award that Beasley has reached semifinalist distinction.  Earlier he was named a semifinalist for the Bednarik Award and the Lombardi Award.  So far this year Beasley has 17 tackles for loss, including 10 sacks.  He has caused a fumble on three of the sacks, leading to a defensive turnover.

Beasley ranks third in the nation in tackles for loss, sixth in sacks and 17th in caused fumbles.  He is a major reason Clemson is first in the nation as a team in tackles for loss.

Watkins is one of 10 semifinalists for the Biletnikoff Award, which goes to the top wide receiver in college football.  It marks the third straight season Clemson has had a semifinalist for the award.  Watkins made the final 10 in 2011 and DeAndre Hopkins was in the final 10 last year.

Watkins has 71 receptions for 1086 yards and nine touchdowns.  He is 10th in the nation in receiving touchdowns, eighth in reception yardage and 16th in receptions per game.    He is the only receiver in college football with two touchdown receptions of at least 90 yards this season.

Watkins has seven 100-yard receiving games this year, a Clemson single season record.  He needs just eight receiving yards against The Citadel this Saturday to become Clemson's career leader.  He has 3013 for his career, just behind DeAndre Hopkins, his former teammate, who had 3020 for his three years with the Tigers.

Overall, Clemson has four different players who are semifinalists for eight different national awards.  In addition to the above two players, quarterback Tajh Boyd is a semifinalist for the Maxwell Award, the Walter Camp Player of the Year and the Davey O'Brien Award. Linebacker Spencer Shuey is in the semifinals for the Lott Trophy.
Clemson National Award Semifinalists
           Player            Pos            Final #            Award
           Tajh Boyd            QB            16            Maxwell Trophy
                                            15            Walter Camp Player of the Year
                                            16            Davey O'Brien Award
                                            15            Johnny Unitas Award
            Vic Beasley         DE            18            Ted Hendricks Award
                                           16            Bednarik Award
                                           12            Lombardi Award
            Sammy Watkins  WR            10            Biletnikoff Award
            Spencer Shuey    LB            20            Lott Trophy

Powered by Frankly