Bucs’ Chadwell named AFCA Regional Coach of the Year - Live5News.com | Charleston, SC | News, Weather, Sports

Bucs’ Chadwell named AFCA Regional Coach of the Year



Charleston Southern head coach Jamey Chadwell has been named the 2013 Regional II Coach of the Year for Football Championship Subdivision by the American Football Coaches Association, the AFCA announced on Tuesday.
Chadwell led the Buccaneers to a school record in wins and their highest national ranking in school history during a remarkable first season at CSU. He was named the 2013 Big South Coach of the Year in late November.
The Bucs piled up a 10-3 record and a Big South record six road wins as their turnaround became one of the biggest stories in FCS Football. CSU roared to a 10-1 start and climbed as high as No. 12 in the FCS Coaches Poll in early November. CSU has spent a program record eight-straight weeks in the FCS Coaches' Poll.
Chadwell took over the program in January and the Buccaneers hit the ground running as CSU opened the season with a 32-29 come-from-behind win at rival The Citadel. The Bucs added a road win at FBS-bound Appalachian State in September, and a win over then-No. 3 Coastal Carolina in November to their growing list of accomplishments. His 10 wins are the most for a Big South head coach in his first season. 
The 10 wins in 2013 sets a new CSU program record, surpassing the previous mark of nine set in 2006. The Bucs were 10-1 to start the season - with their lone loss coming at Colorado - before dropping their final two games of the year. The Bucs started the season 7-0 and captured a Big South record six road wins.
CSU's 10 wins this season are a five-game improvement over last season. 
Chadwell is joined by Joe Moorhead (Fordham), Jack Cosgrove (Maine), Dino Babers (Eastern Illinois), Craig Bohl (North Dakota State), and Ron Roberts (Southeastern Louisiana) as the FCS coaches to be named Regional Coach of the Year.

The AFCA recognizes five regional Coach of the Year winners in each of the Association's five divisions: Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III and NAIA. The winners are selected by Active members of the Association who vote for coaches in their respective regions and divisions.

The 2013 Regional Coach of the Year winners will be recognized at the AFCA Coach of the Year Dinner at the 2014 AFCA Convention in Indianapolis, Indiana. The dinner is scheduled for Tuesday, January 14.

2013 AFCA Regional Coach of the Year Winners
Football Championship Subdivision
Region 1: Joe Moorhead, Fordham University & Jack Cosgrove, University of Maine (tie)
Region 2: Jamey Chadwell, Charleston Southern University
Region 3: Dino Babers, Eastern Illinois University*
Region 4: Craig Bohl, North Dakota State University
Region 5: Ron Roberts, Southeastern Louisiana University


Powered by Frankly