Seven Beaufort County communities culling deer - Live5News.com | Charleston, SC | News, Weather, Sports

Seven Beaufort County communities culling deer

(Photo: MGN generic photo) (Photo: MGN generic photo)

Seven Beaufort County communities have received state permits to reduce the county's deer population by 200 deer.
The Island Packet of Hilton Head reports that the communities have received permits from the Department of Natural Resources.
The deer are culled at night by sharpshooters using spotlights and silencers on their guns.
The communities get permits to cull a certain number of deer each year based on the deer population and the number of traffic accidents involving deer. The culling must end by March 1.
The communities pay to process the deer and the meat is donated to local food banks.
Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly