CCSD: 21 teachers became board certified in 2013

CHARLESTON COUNTY, SC (WCSC) - The Charleston County School District is being recognized after nearly two dozen educators became National Board Certified Teachers in 2013.

The school district made the list of top 20 districts nationwide for number of new Board Certified Teachers, with 21 teachers receiving their certifications. The new additions bring CCSD's overall total to 508.

"I want to congratulate our newest NBCT certified teachers for their hard work and commitment to professional development through the certification process," said CCSD Superintendent Dr. Nancy McGinley in a statement.

A total of 230 South Carolina teachers earned National Board Certification in 2013.

Congratulations to the following teachers:

  • Amy Ball - James Island Charter High
  • Krista Cornehl - Academic Magnet High
  • Anne Croom - Fort Johnson Middle
  • Jaime Cunningham - Liberty Hill Academy
  • Robin Danish - Montessori Community School of Charleston
  • Lucia DiCaprio - Garrett Academy of Technology
  • Wendy Gainey - St. Andrew's Elementary
  • Shelly Goughnour - Harbor View Elementary
  • Kathleen Hall - Harbor View Elementary
  • Jessica Hervey - James B Edwards Elementary
  • Mary Hughes - Moultrie Middle
  • Andree Jaynes - Pepperhill Elementary
  • Laura Kammauf - St. Andrews Elementary
  • Jason Kraege - Pinehurst Elementary
  • Anna Merriman - Academic Magnet High
  • Kate O'Leary - Pinehurst Elementary
  • Teresa Picciotto - Ashley River Creative Arts Elementary
  • Kelly Porter - Springfield Elementary
  • Andrea Stewart - Stono Park Elementary
  • Scott Trottier - Cario Middle
  • Joanna Wolff - Pepperhill Elementary

Copyright 2014 WCSC. All rights reserved.