Jeff Jakaitis Earns Warrior Hockey ECHL Goaltender of the Year A - Live5News.com | Charleston, SC | News, Weather, Sports

Jeff Jakaitis Earns Warrior Hockey ECHL Goaltender of the Year Award

The South Carolina Stingrays, along with the ECHL, announced today that goaltender Jeff Jakaitis has been named the Warrior Hockey ECHL Goaltender of the Year for the 2013-14 season. The award marks the second consecutive season a Stingrays goaltender has claimed the highest individual honor and the third time in the last five campaigns.

Jakaitis, who was named to the All-ECHL First Team last week, finished third in the league with 24 wins and .924 save percentage, fifth with a 2.16 goals-against average and tied for sixth with three shutouts. Overall, the Rochester, Minnesota, native held a 24-12-1-2 record in 40 games and was named the ECHL Goaltender of the Month in October and December, setting a new league record with four monthly awards in his career. Jakaitis allowed two goals or less in 28 of his 40 appearances this season. The ECHL Goaltender of the Year selection is Jakaitis’ second in his career, receiving the honor as a member of the Gwinnett Gladiators in 2011-12 and joins Scott Stirling (2000-01, 2003-04) as the only two-time winners in the award’s history. Last week, he was also awarded the Stingrays’ Jerry Zucker Community Service Award for the 2013-14 season.

“We are incredibly happy for Jeff Jakaits,” said Stingrays Head Coach and Director of Hockey Operations Spencer Carbery. “He wishes he could be on the ice helping the team win games right now and the team always comes first with him. This award is well deserved for how much he gave this team this season.”

The award is the Stingrays’ third in team history, tying an ECHL record. Ryan Zapolski won the honor last season and Todd Fordearned the top spot for the 2009-10 season. The Stingrays share the record with the Alaska Aces, who won in 2010-11, 2008-09 and 2005-06.

Warrior Hockey ECHL Goaltender of the Year Award Winners

2013-14 Jeff Jakaitis, South Carolina Stingrays

2012-13 Ryan Zapolski, South Carolina Stingrays

2011-12 Jeff Jakaitis, Gwinnett Gladiators

2010-11 Gerald Coleman, Alaska Aces

2009-10 Todd Ford, South Carolina Stingrays

2008-09 Jean-Philippe Lamoureux, Alaska Aces

2007-08 Anton Khudobin, Texas Wildcatters

2006-07 Adam Berkhoel, Dayton Bombers

2005-06 Matt Underhill, Alaska Aces

2004-05 Chris Madden, Florida Everblades/Long Beach Ice Dogs

2003-04 Scott Stirling, Atlantic City Boardwalk Bullies

2002-03 Alfie Michaud, Peoria Rivermen

2001-02 Frederic Cloutier, Louisiana IceGators

2000-01 Scott Stirling, Trenton Titans

1999-00 Jan Lasak, Hampton Roads Admirals

1998-99 Maxime Gingras, Richmond Renegades

1997-98 Nick Vitucci, Toledo Storm

1996-97 Marc Delorme, Louisiana IceGators

1995-96 Alain Morissette, Louisville RiverFrogs

1994-95 Chris Gordon, Huntington Blizzard

1993-94 Cory Cadden, Knoxville Cherokees

The Stingrays kick off the 2014 Kelly Cup Playoffs and the #rays4thecup with Game 1 of the Eastern Conference Quarterfinals against the Wheeling Nailers tomorrow, Friday, April 18 at 7:05 p.m. at the North Charleston Coliseum. Game 2 isSaturday, April 19.

Powered by Frankly