CofC's Henry Named to NCBWA Stopper of the Year Watch List - Live5News.com | Charleston, SC | News, Weather, Sports

CofC's Henry Named to NCBWA Stopper of the Year Watch List


College of Charleston relief pitcher Chase Henry has been named one of 50 players on the mid-season NCBWA Stopper of the Year Watch List, the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association announced Wednesday.

The 10th annual award is given to the top relief pitcher in college baseball at the end of each season.

A junior from Cowpens, S.C., Henry has made 20 appearances on the season with an ERA of 1.56. He has compiled a record of 2-0 with two saves. He has a season WHIP of 0.98 with just 24 hits and 10 walks in 34.2 innings pitched, ranking second on the team.

Henry is on pace to rank in the top 10 in school history in appearances. He is part of a pitching staff that has a team ERA of 2.94, ranking in the top 40 in the nation.

Henry was the only representative of the CAA on the 50-player list.

At the conclusion of the regular season, the Division I national saves leader and four other relief pitching standouts will be selected as finalists and released Wednesday, June 4, prior to start of NCAA Super Regional tournament competition.

The NCBWA's All-America Committee will select the winner, with this year's recipient to be announced during the 2014 College World Series.

2014 NCBWA Stopper of the Year Mid-Season Watch List

Pitcher School Yr.

David Berg UCLA Jr.

Greg Brody Belmont Jr.

Joe Broussard LSU Jr.

Nick Burdi Louisville Jr.

Thomas Burrows Alabama Fr.

Matt Campbell Clemson Sr.

Michael Cederoth San Diego State Jr.

Andy Cox Tennessee So.

Jacob Cronenworth Michigan So.

Bret Dahlson Loyola Marymount Sr.

Eric Dorsch Kent State R-Jr.

Matt Eckelman Saint Louis So.

Riley Ferrell TCU So.

Aaron Fossas Wake Forest R-So.

Carson Fulmer Vanderbilt Jr.

Bryan Garcia Miami, Florida Fr.

Andres Gracia Samford Jr.

Michael Gunn Arkansas Jr.

Chase Henry College of Charleston Jr.

Zach Hirsch Nebraska Sr.

Nick Howard Virginia Jr.

Reece Karalus Santa Clara So.

Eric Karch Pepperdine Sr.

Ryan Keaffaber Indiana State Fr.

Mason Klotz Southeastern Louisiana R-So.

Brandon Koch Dallas Baptist So.

Jacob Lindgren Mississippi State Jr.

Seth Lucio Tennessee Tech Jr.

Justin McCalvin Kennesaw State Jr.

Brendan McCurry Oklahoma State Sr.

Sutter McLoughlin Sacramento State So.

Josh Michalec Baylor Sr.

Sam Moore UC Irvine Jr.

Ryan Pennell Elon Sr.

Ashton Perritt Liberty Jr.

Jake Reed Oregon Jr.

Reed Reilly Cal Poly Jr.

Jason Richman Georgia Southern So.

Jordan Romano Oral Roberts Jr

Bradley Roney Southern Miss Jr.

Victor Sanchez New Mexico So.

Joel Seddon South Carolina Jr.

Zach Stone UC Davis Fr.

Travis Stout Jacksonville State Jr.

Dillon Tate UC Santa Barbara So.

Ryan Thompson Campbell Sr.

Ian Tompkins Western Kentucky Jr.

A.J. Vanegas Stanford Sr.

Chase Wellbrock Houston Sr.

Ryan Williams East Carolina Sr.

Powered by Frankly