USC's Dambaugh Earns SEC Yearly Honors - Live5News.com | Charleston, SC | News, Weather, Sports

USC's Dambaugh Earns SEC Yearly Honors


Junior Justine Dreher earned first-team All-SEC honors and Senior Samantha Swinehart earned second-team All-SEC honors as announced by the conference office on Friday. Freshman Katelyn Dambaugh also received second-team All-SEC honors and was named to the SEC All-Freshman team, as well.

Swinehart and Dambaugh are tied for the second best stroke average on the team with a 73.73, which also ties for 17th in the SEC and currently gives Dambaugh the best stroke average for a freshman in program history. Dambaugh, a two-time SEC Freshman of the Week honoree, tallied eight rounds of par or better and six top-20 finishes, including a tie for fourth showing at the Bryan National Collegiate.

The Gamecocks will be back in action May 8-10 in the NCAA East Regional at the SouthWood Golf Club in Tallahassee, Fla.

2014 SEC Women’s Golf Awards

SEC Coach of the Year – Shauna Estes-Taylor, Arkansas

SEC Golfer of the Year – Stephanie Meadow, Alabama

SEC Freshman of the Year – Simin Feng, Vanderbilt

SEC Scholar-Atlete of the Year – Stephanie Meadow, Alabama

All-SEC Teams

First-Team All-SEC

Simin Feng, Vanderbilt (SEC Championship Medalist) Allyson McDonald, Mississippi State Gabriela Lopez, Arkansas Stephanie Meadow, Alabama Emily Tuburt, Arkansas Caroline Nistrup, LSU Madelene Sagstrom, LSU Justine Dreher, South Carolina

Second-Team All-SEC

Samantha Swinehart, South Carolina

Marta Sanz, Auburn

Katerina Ruzickova, Texas A&M

Emma Talley, Alabama

Jennifer Hahn, Vanderbilt

Regina Plasencia, Arkansas

Katelyn Dambaugh, South Carolina

Chesey Thomas, Tennessee

SEC All-Freshman Team

Maria Torres, Florida

Caroline Nistrup, LSU

Simin Feng, Vanderbilt

Katelyn Dambaugh, South Carolina

Haley Mills, Kentucky

Jessica Peng, Mississippi State

Antonia Scherer, Vanderbilt

Marijosse Navarro, Texas A&M

Powered by Frankly