16 candidates file to run for Berkeley Co. sheriff

16 candidates file to run for Berkeley Co. sheriff

BERKELEY COUNTY, SC (WCSC) - Sixteen candidates have filed to run for sheriff of Berkeley County, as of the noon filing deadline, according to the South Carolina State Election Commission.

An April 21 primary will narrow the field of candidates. If a runoff is necessary, voters will return to the polls on May 5.

Voters will then elect the next sheriff of Berkeley County on June 9.

The 15 candidates who completed the filing process are:

  • Brian Adams
  • Robert J. Bittner
  • Omar Brown
  • Chad Caldwell
  • Calvitt Chab Clarke
  • Ricky Driggers
  • Frank Fuda
  • Marty Housand
  • Dan Isgett
  • Duane Lewis
  • Jerry Merrithew
  • Rick Ollic
  • Will Rogers
  • Anthony Smalls
  • John Waters

Berkeley County Election Commission officials say a 16th candidate, Derrick Burbage, has filed as a petition candidate, which means his name will not appear on the primary or runoff ballots. Burbage would be required to get signatures of at least five percent of Berkeley County's registered voters for his name to appear on the June 9 ballot.

As of Monday, which is 120 days out from the general election, there were 105,554 registered voters in the county, according to the county's election commission, which would translate into 5,278 signatures required, slightly lower than the original estimate of just more than 5,300. Burbage has until noon on April 10 to come up with the required number of signatures to be placed on the ballot in the June election.

On Feb. 20, Interim Sheriff C.W. "Butch" Henerey was sworn in to serve until a June election decides the race.

Henerey's appointment by Gov. Nikki Haley came after longtime sheriff Wayne DeWitt resigned on Feb. 4 after his indictment on charges of driving under the influence, leaving the scene of an accident and failing to stop for a blue light in a Dec. 28 incident.

DeWitt served as sheriff of the county for 20 years.

Copyright 2015 WCSC. All rights reserved.