Charleston County School Board approves new bell time schedule

Charleston County School Board approves new bell time schedule

CHARLESTON COUNTY, SC (WCSC) - The Charleston County School board approved a new bell time schedule Monday evening for a number of districts.

The school board voted 8-1 to move districts four, nine and ten to start between 7:30 a.m. and 8:30 a.m.

The new bell times are: Haut Gap MS 7:30 a.m., St. Johns 7:20 a.m., Jerry Zucker MS 8:30 a.m., Morningside MS 8:30 a.m., Northwoods MS 8:30 a.m., CE Williams MS 7:30 a.m. and West Ashley MS 7:30 a.m.

The new start time for District 9 will begin for the 2015 school year, while officials say the new schedules for District 4 and 10 will start "as soon as buses are available" with Jan 2016 as the latest start date.

The schools affected are in parts of West Ashley, North Charleston and Johns Island.

The biggest cost is adding buses and drivers for the new routes.

That cost is estimated at around $3 million.

Last week, the district released the schedule options, costs involved and a statement that said the options were based on three community meetings and more than 2,700 responses to an online survey.

"The plans were first presented to the Audit and Finance Committee on Monday, May 4, 2015," read the school district's statement."The committee voted to send the proposals to the CCSD Board of Trustees for consideration at their May 11, 2015 meeting."

According to Acting Superintendent Michael Bobby, these options represent a step in the right direction for addressing a problem that has been put off for years.

Copyright 2015 WCSC. All rights reserved.