41 CCSD schools to provide free breakfast, lunch to students

41 CCSD schools to provide free breakfast, lunch to students

CHARLESTON COUNTY, SC (WCSC) - The Charleston County School District has announced that 41 schools will be offering free breakfast and lunch to all students for the 2015-2016 school year.

CCSD officials say the free meals are thanks to the Community Eligibility Provision which is part of the National School Lunch and School Breakfast Program through the US Department of Agriculture.

"The CEP enables low-income area schools to increase their access to the National School Lunch Program (NSLP) and School Breakfast Program (SBP) as a community, as opposed to using individual income data, while greatly reducing the administrative burden of NSLP and SBP participation (i.e. processing annual applications and conducting verification)," stated a press release by the Office of Nutrition Services.

The schools that will be receiving free meals are as follows:

A. C. Corcoran Elementary School

Angel Oak Elementary School

Baptist Hill High School

Burke High School

Charleston Development Academy

Charleston Progressive Academy

Chicora Elementary School

E. B. Ellington Elementary School

E. A. Burns Elementary School

Edith L. Frierson Elementary School

Garrett Academy of Technology

Greg Mathis Charter School

Hunley Park Elementary School

James Simons Elementary School

Jane Edwards Elementary School

Jerry Zucker Middle School

Julian Mitchell Elementary School

Ladson Elementary School

Lambs Elementary School

Lincoln Middle High School

Malcolm C. Hursey Elementary School

Mary Ford Elementary School

Meeting Street Elementary at Brentwood Memminger Elementary School

Matilda F. Dunston Primary

Midland Park Primary School

Military Magnet Academy

Minnie Hughes Elementary School

Morningside Middle ARMS Academy and EXCEL Academy

Mt Zion Elementary School

North Charleston Creative Arts Elementary School

North Charleston Elementary School

North Charleston High School

Northwoods Middle School

Pepperhill Elementary School

Pinehurst Elementary School

R. B. Stall High School

Sanders-Clyde Elementary/Middle School

St. James-Santee Elementary School

St. John's High School

W. B. Goodwin Elementary School

Copyright 2015 WCSC. All rights reserved