SCDOT names priority road repairs in Lowcountry

SCDOT names priority road repairs in Lowcountry
Gross Avenue (Photo Source: Norm Lewis)
Gross Avenue (Photo Source: Norm Lewis)

CHARLESTON, SC (WCSC) - The state's Department of Transportation has named seven priority roads in the Lowcountry where crews are working to complete repairs.

A total of 296 crews are working statewide in ongoing recovery operations from the historic flooding event, according to an SCDOT report. In the Lowcountry, 36 crews are working, with nine each in Berkeley and Charleston Counties, 10 crews in Colleton and eight in Dorchester.

Maintenance crews recovery efforts are continuing with 7-day weeks and 12-hour shifts, SCDOT officials say.

SCDOT officials say the following roads are considered "top priority" with repairs already underway:

  • Berkeley County:
    • Haynesville Ext.
    • Gross Road
    • Compton Road
    • Walter Road
    • Spires Landing Road
    • Old Black Oak Road
  • Dorchester County:
    • Dorchester Road

Crews have already begun repairs on Spires Landing Road, repairs of dirt roads in Dorchester and Colleton County and added one roadway, Combahee Road in Colleton county, for bridge end and shoulder work.

Two roads in one county are still underwater and awaiting assessment from SCDOT crews, the report states.

The Haynesville Extension, Dorchester Road and the Highway 17A bridge in Berkeley County are under contract for repairs, the report states.

As of Friday morning, SCDOT reported 24 more roads and nine more bridges opened within the past 24 hours. A total of 227 roads remained closed, a number that included 64 bridges, the report states.

Forty roads are under contract for repairs statewide.

The SCDOT construction group and Federal Highway Administration damage assessment teams are working to speed up contract repairs within FEMA requirements, the report states.

Dorchester County is among five in the state that have already been assigned an SCDOT debris removal contractor. The other four are Sumter, Lexington, Richland and Georgetown Counties.

Copyright 2015 WCSC. All rights reserved.