Clemson's Swinney wins AP coach of year after perfect season - Live5News.com | Charleston, SC | News, Weather, Sports

Clemson's Swinney wins AP coach of year after perfect season

Courtesy: ClemsonTigers.com Courtesy: ClemsonTigers.com

AP College Football Writer

Clemson's Dabo Swinney is The Associated Press college football coach of the year after leading the Tigers to an unbeaten regular season and the longest run as the No. 1 team in the country in school history.

Swinney received 35 of 60 votes from the AP Top 25 media panel. Iowa's Kirk Ferentz was second with 10. Michigan State's Mark Dantonio and Houston's Tom Herman each received five votes. Oklahoma's Bob Stoops received three votes and Notre Dame's Brian Kelly and Florida's Jim McElwain each had one.

Swinney is the first Clemson coach to win the award, and the first ACC coach since Jim Grobe from Wake Forest in 2006.

Behind Swinney, the Tigers (13-0) won the Atlantic Coast Conference and enter the College Football Playoff as the top seed.

AP college football website: collegefootball.ap.org

Copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Powered by Frankly