Interstate 26 lane reversal information

VIDEO: SCDOT opens reversed lanes on I-26 corridor

CHARLESTON COUNTY, SC (WCSC) - South Carolina Gov. Nikki Haley declared a state of emergency Tuesday afternoon, calling for coastal evacuations before a dangerous hurricane moves just off the Lowcountry coast later this week.

Instead of a blanket evacuation for the entire South Carolina coast beginning at 3 p.m. Wednesday, Haley says Charleston and Beaufort counties are only under that evacuation.

Residents in Georgetown and Horry counties are now being asked to evacuate Thursday morning.

Find information on evacuation zones, routes and what to do if you don't have transportation below:

I-26 lane reversal plan: 

Gov. Nikki Haley encouraged residents of Beaufort and Charleston Counties to evacuate because of Hurricane Matthew beginning at 3 p.m. Wednesday. That's when I-26 eastbound lanes will be switched to a westbound direction.

A rolling closure started on I-26 eastbound near I-77 around 12:30 p.m.

Once all eastbound onramps are closed and traffic cleared, the lanes will be reversed and evacuation traffic will be allowed to travel toward Columbia on I-26's eastbound lanes. No eastbound traffic will be allowed in the westbound lanes on the Charleston side of the I-26, I-526 merge.

Other Evacuation Routes:

Edisto Island, Adams Run 

  • Evacuees will take SC 174 to US 17. They will then take US 17 south to SC 64. This will take them to Walterboro, and then to Aiken and I-20.

Yonges Island, Meggett, Hollywood, Ravenel 

  • Use SC 165 to US 17, then US 17 south to SC 64 where they will go to Walterboro, then to Aiken and I-20.

Johns Island, Kiawah Island and Seabrook 

  • Use SC 700 to Main Road (S-20) to US 17.
  • Evacuees will take US 17 south to SC 64 where they will go to Walterboro, then to Aiken and I-20.

James Island and Folly Beach 

  • Use SC 171 to US 17.
  • Evacuees should then travel south on US 17 to I-526 to the reversed lanes of I-26.

City of Charleston

  • The west side of the city (West Ashley) will use SC 61 to US 78, US 321, and SC 389 to I-20.
  • Downtown will use the normal lanes of I-26.
  • Evacuees using SC 642 will travel west toward Summerville and take road S-22 (Old Orangeburg Road) to US 78 west.

North Charleston

  • Evacuees will take US 52 (Rivers Avenue) to US 78 to US 178 to Orangeburg then to I-20 or continue on US 52 to US 176 or continue north on US 52.
  • The right lanes of US 52 at Goose Creek will continue on to Moncks Corner. In Moncks Corner, evacuees will be directed onto SC 6, where SC 6 will take them toward Columbia.
  • The left lane of US 52 at Goose Creek will go onto US 176 to Columbia.

East Cooper

  • Evacuees leaving Mount Pleasant will take I-526 or US 17 south to I-26.
  • Those leaving Sullivan's Island will use SC 703 to I-526 Business to access I-526, then I-26.
  • Evacuees from the Isle of Palms will use the Isle of Palms connector (SC 517) to go to US 17, where the right lane will turn north on US 17, then proceed to SC 41, to SC 402, then to US 52 to SC 375, then to US 521, to SC 261 to US 378 to Columbia.
  • Evacuees using the left lanes of the Isle of Palms connector will turn left to go to I-526 and then on to I-26.
  • Evacuees on I-526 approaching I-26 from East Cooper will be directed to the normal lanes of I-26 if in the right lane of I-526.
  • Those in the left lane of I-526 will be directed into the reversed lanes of I-26

Awendaw and McClellanville

  • Evacuees will take SC 45 to US 52 where they will be directed right onto US 52 to SC 375 to US 521 to SC 261 to US 378 to Columbia.

Daniel Island

  • Evacuees will use I-526 or Clements Ferry Road as conditions warrant.

Copyright 2016 WCSC. All Rights Reserved.