FEMA grants individual assistance to more counties after Hurrica - Live5News.com | Charleston, SC | News, Weather, Sports

FEMA grants individual assistance to more counties after Hurricane Matthew

Source: US Department of Homeland Security Source: US Department of Homeland Security

The Federal Emergency Management Agency approved fifteen additional counties for Individual Assistance.

The assistance will allow survivors who sustained losses to apply for aid in the wake of Hurricane Matthew.

Counties approved for FEMA Individual Assistance include:

  • Allendale
  • Bamberg
  • Barnwell
  • Beaufort
  • Colleton
  • Darlington
  • Dillon
  • Dorchester
  • Florence
  • Georgetown
  • Hampton
  • Jasper
  • Lee
  • Sumter
  • Williamsburg

Assistance can include money for temporary rental assistance and essential home repairs for primary homes, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses and other programs to help survivors recover from the effects of the disaster. 

Marion and Orangeburg counties were previously designated for Individual Assistance, but since then more counties have been added.

People in need of aid can register online at DisasterAssistance.gov or by calling (800) 621-3362. Disaster assistance applicants who are deaf or hard of hearing should call (800) 462-7585. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week until further notice.

Six counties were also approved for categories A and B of Public Assistance to help them recover from the storm:

  • Allendale
  • Bamberg
  • Barnwell
  • Hampton
  • Lee
  • Sumter

This assistance from FEMA enables state agencies, local governments and certain private non-profits to recoup costs for storm response and debris removal.

The FEMA Public Assistance program categories are as follows: 

  • Category A: Debris Removal.
  • Category B: Emergency Protective Measures.
  • Category C: Roads and Bridges.  
  • Category D: Water Control Facilities.
  • Category E: Buildings and Equipment.
  • Category F: Utilities.
  • Category G: Parks, Recreational Facilities and Other Items.

The FEMA Public Assistance program is a reimbursement grant program. Typically, the federal share is 75 percent and the state or local governments pay the remaining 25 percent whereas eligible private non-profit groups are responsible for the full 25 percent. 
Beaufort, Berkeley, Charleston, Colleton, Darlington, Dillon, Dorchester, Florence, Georgetown, Horry, Jasper, Marion, and Williamsburg counties were previously designated for Public Assistance. 

Copyright 2016 WCSC. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly