CSU’s Keeling & Fleming Jr. earn All-Big South Conference honors

CSU’s Keeling & Fleming Jr. earn All-Big South Conference honors
Courtesy: CSU Athletics

CHARLESTON, SC - Charleston Southern sophomore guard Christian Keeling has been named to the Big South's All-Conference Second Team, the league office announced Monday. Keeling also earned All-Academic Team honors, while freshman guard Phlandrous Fleming Jr. was tabbed to the All-Freshman Team.

Keeling received the sixth-most votes in all-conference balloting conducted by a panel of the Big South's head coaches and media members. The Augusta, Ga., product becomes the first Buc named to the all-conference team since Saah Nimley (1st Team) and Will Saunders (2nd Team) in 2014-15. The Communication major also garnered an All-Academic Team nod thanks to his 3.1 GPA.

Fleming finished as runner-up for Freshman of the Year to Radford's Carlik Jones. He is the tenth CSU player in Barclay Radebaugh's tenure as head coach to receive All-Freshman Team honors.

Radebaugh lauded Keeling and Fleming's impact as the impetus for the Bucs' hot streak entering this week's Big South Championship.

"I know Christian would trade all his personal accolades in for an NCAA berth but his production has been incredible," Radebaugh said. "His aggression offensively is just outstanding and he's really grown as a defender and leader. I'm most excited because he has so many areas he can continue to grow in and it's going to be a lot of fun to watch that."

"Phlandrous was runner-up for Freshman of the Year and he's certainly mine," Radebaugh continued of Fleming. "I thought – particularly late – during the second half of the season, he was amazing. His character and the ability he's shown to help lead as a freshman is impressive. He's helped us so much defensively and really has a chance to be one of the elite defenders in our league as he continues to grow."

A year after delivering one of the most productive freshman seasons in Big South history, Keeling again shined as one of the league's top players. He finished the regular season second in the circuit in scoring, fifth in minutes played, seventh in steals, eighth in free-throw percentage and 11th in rebounding and field-goal percentage. Keeling led CSU's young team in points, rebounds and assists. He recorded 11 20-point games, including a season-high 31 to power the Bucs to an overtime victory at Radford that started a stretch of seven wins in nine games.

Fleming's athleticism, energy and personality has been invaluable toward CSU's maturation over the course of the season. He led all Big South freshmen in steals (1.3 SPG – 11th overall) and was second in scoring (10.7 PPG – 22nd) while also pulling down four rebounds per game. Fleming's length and tenacity helped the Bucs force a Big South-best 15.9 turnovers per game (21st nationally). He finished the campaign in style, tallying a career-high 26 points to lead CSU to its first win at Winthrop in 16 years.

All of the Big South Men's Basketball All-Conference honorees are listed below.


First-Team All-Conference

Xavier Cooks, F, Sr., Winthrop

Chris Clemons, G, Jr., Campbell

Ahmad Thomas, G, Sr., UNC Asheville

Ed Polite Jr., F, Jr., Radford

MaCio Teague, G, Soph., UNC Asheville

Second-Team All-Conference

Christian Keeling, G, Soph., Charleston Southern

David Efianayi, G, R-Jr., Gardner-Webb

Scottie James, F, R-Soph., Liberty

Andre Fox, G, Jr., High Point

Jahaad Proctor, G, Soph., High Point

Honorable Mention All-Conference

Reggie Dillard, G, R-Sr., Presbyterian College

Liam O'Reilly, G, Sr., Gardner-Webb

Marcus Burk, G, Soph., Campbell

Carlik Jones, G, R-Fr., Radford

Bjorn Broman, G, Jr., Winthrop

All-Freshman Team

Carlik Jones, G, R-Fr., Radford

Phlandrous Fleming Jr., G, Fr., Charleston Southern

Jaheam Cornwall, G, Fr., Gardner-Webb

Elijah Cuffee, G, Fr., Liberty

Justyn Mutts, F, Fr., High Point

All-Academic Team

Cory Gensler, G, Soph., Campbell

Christian Keeling, G, Soph., Charleston Southern

Patrick Zeck, F, Soph., Gardner-Webb

Jahaad Proctor, G, Soph., High Point

Ryan Kemrite, G, R-Sr., Liberty

Dominic Ezeani, G, Soph., Longwood

JC Younger, G, Soph., Presbyterian College

Caleb Tanner, G, Jr., Radford

Kevin Vannatta, G, Sr., UNC Asheville

Anders Broman, G, R-Sr., Winthrop

Player of the Year

Xavier Cooks, F, Sr., Winthrop

Freshman of the Year

Carlik Jones, G, R-Fr., Radford

Defensive Player of the Year

Ahmad Thomas, G, Sr., UNC Asheville

Coach of the Year

Mike Jones, Radford

Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Kevin Vannatta, G, Sr., UNC Asheville