SCDNR: All SC counties considered 'drought-free' for first time in almost 2 years

SCDNR: All SC counties considered 'drought-free' for first time in almost 2 years
A map shows every county in the state with normal drought status (Source: SCDNR)

CHARLESTON, SC (WCSC) - July 8, 2016 was the last time every county in South Carolina was considered drought free. That changed Tuesday when the South Carolina drought response committee met via conference call.

The committee voted to change the drought status of 13 counties from "incipient" to "normal", according to the South Carolina Department of Natural Resources. The move, therefore, gave every county in the state a drought-free status.

"A persistent trough of low pressure produced a moist, southerly flow, which increased rainfall coverage," National Weather Service Hydrologist Leonard Vaughn said in a statement. "This, combined with the additional moisture from Sub-Tropical Storm Alberto, brought even more beneficial rainfall. Over the past fourteen days, rainfall across South Carolina, has ranged from 200 to 600 percent above normal, with totals from 3 to 12 inches."

The drought conditions for every county can be found here.

The counties that were removed from the first level of drought (incipient stage) included Abbeville, Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Colleton, Dorchester, Edgefield, Hampton, Lexington, McCormick, Richland, and Saluda. SCDNR says it will continue to monitor conditions.

Copyright 2018 WCSC. All rights reserved.