CofC's Sisk, Morgan Selected On Day Three Of MLB Draft

CofC's Sisk, Morgan Selected On Day Three Of MLB Draft
Courtesy: CofC Athletics

CHARLESTON, SC - Two members of the College of Charleston baseball team were afforded the opportunity to pursue a career in professional baseball on Wednesday, as Evan Sisk (Chester, S.C.) and Luke Morgan (New Lenox, Ill.) both heard their names called on the third and final day of the 2018 Major League Baseball First-Year Player Draft.

Sisk was the first Cougar off the board in this year's MLB First-Year Player Draft after being selected by the St. Louis Cardinals in the 16th round with the 483rd overall pick. The Colorado Rockies selected Morgan in the 20th round with the 606th overall pick.

Sisk put together a stellar junior season for the Cougars with a 10-3 record and a 2.96 earned run average in 15 starts. The 6-foot-2, 210-pound left-handed pitcher struck out 78 batters in 91.1 innings and ranked 10th in the nation with his 10 victories. Sisk was especially strong against Power Five foes in 2018 with a perfect 3-0 record and a 0.00 ERA in 23.1 innings against Georgia, Kansas State and South Carolina. In his three-year tenure at Patriots Point, Sisk has compiled a 16-7 record with a 3.69 ERA and 162 strikeouts in 204.2 innings pitched.

Morgan delivered a superb senior season for The College in 2018, leading the Cougars in batting average (.326), hits (73), triples (3), total bases (111), and stolen bases (20) while earning a spot on the All-Colonial Athletic Association First Team. The 6-foot-2, 195-pound outfielder clubbed seven home runs, drove in 28 runs, and reached base in all but seven games. Morgan paced the Cougars with 22 multi-hit games, including seven three-hit performances, and a 4-for-5 game against Hofstra in the CAA Tournament on May 23. In his two seasons at CofC, Morgan batted .297 with seven home runs, 36 RBIs, and 20 stolen bases.

The Cougars are expected to return 22 letter-winners from this year's squad, including rising seniors Luke Manzo (Marietta, Ga.), Bradley Dixon (Greenwood, S.C.), Dupree Hart (Rock Hill, S.C.), K.J. Bryant (Taylors, S.C.), Danny Wondrack (Wall, N.J.), Clay Hunt (Fort Mill, S.C.), Nathan Ocker (Middletown, Pa.), Logan McRae (Florence, S.C.), Justin Henle (Fort Stewart, Ga.), and Joey Mundy (Huntington, W.Va.).