48 'problematic' SC inmates transferred to private Mississippi c - Live5News.com | Charleston, SC | News, Weather, Sports

48 'problematic' SC inmates transferred to private Mississippi correctional facility

(Source: WIS) (Source: WIS)

The South Carolina Department of Corrections has transferred 48 inmates out of state after causing "major problems," according to an SCDC spokesperson. 

The 48 "problematic" inmates were transferred to Tallahatchie County Correctional Facility in Tutwiler, MS on June 19 and June 21. Family members of the transferred inmates were notified on June 22. The delay in notification was due to "security reasons."

TCCF is a medium-security private prison that is owned and operated by CoreCivic, which is a company that owns and manages private prisons. WIS has reached out to CoreCivic to attempt to get details on the housing and cost of inmates. CoreCivic confirmed receipt of the inmates but deferred to SCDC regarding financials. 

SCDC would not elaborate on the "major problems" caused by the transferred inmates, citing ongoing investigations within state correctional facilities. 

Each inmate's status would be subject to review to see if a transfer back to South Carolina "is justified." 

WIS has requested the information from SCDC in regards to the deal or contract associated with housing the inmates in a private prison.

WIS News 10 will update this story as more information becomes available.

A list of the transferred inmates and their SCDC number is below: 

Quanti Burch 347808
Randy Clark 173904
Kenneth Harris 217406
Eric Ancrum 265645
William Lee 313779
Christopher Moore 368837
Raphael Pontoo 362840
Lakiem Butler 341990
Lionel McRae 278898
Kimjaro Pressley 299377
Corey Williams 314346
Anthony Pyatt 266804
Eric Samson 349293
Franklin Pyatt 351670
Robyn Dukes 237386
Dexter Lawrence 318821
James Baxley 294470
Stephen Green 259765
Damon Scott 364849
Damekia Martin 361950
Andre Cureton 334906
Ryan Brooks 291345
Keonakamer Postell 264242
Brandon Barksdale 365114
Antonio Blakley 345559
Vincent Rice 316178
Darnell Khan 330148
Clinton McCallum 305003
Jacoby Fields 349115
Bilal Harris 337367
Ronald Downs 356640
Robert Gaines 240407
Stanley Oliver 192110
Andre Massey 229492
Octavious McCormick 215400
Clyde Williams 336038
Bryan Brown 228846
Korrell Battle 292294
Joseph Dickerson 86877
Jerry Bynam 284966
Jimmy Gagum, Jr. 349075
Roderickus Bell 293109
Warren Russell 316802
Cichey Mayo 284692
Jadorie Kirkland 363469
Terry Hamby 353487
Zach Bentley 349088
Desmond Postell 373354

Copyright 2018 WIS. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly