Four Buccaneers take home All-Big South honors

Four Buccaneers take home All-Big South honors

CHARLESTON, S.C. – After taking three of their final five Big South series and a number of standout performances, four student-athletes reeled-in All-Big South accolades, as announced Monday by the conference office.

Ryan Stoudemire and RJ Petit earned first team honors while Jason Miller was voted to the second team and Jaret Bennett was named a member of the All-Academic team. The second team honor is the second All-Conference accolade for Miller while Stoudemire, Petit and Bennett make their first appearance.

A junior from Pomaria, S.C., Ryan Stoudemire has been one of the best power threats in the Big South all season finishing the regular season with 14 home runs and 45 RBI’s and batting .303 with a .380 on-base percentage and slugging .562 – all career-highs for the junior first baseman. Stoudemire finished third in the home run race and was top-10 of the conference in RBI’s, total bases and slugging percentage.

Stoudemire also enters the Big South tournament just one home run and four RBI’s shy of tying the single season CSU records. He can also set a new mark for total bases with just one more home run.

Freshman pitcher RJ Petit cemented himself as one of the best rookies in the Big South with a team-best 2.55 ERA with a 3-0 record and five saves over 35.1 innings of work. The freshman from Rock Hill, S.C. surrendered just three runs in Big South play, two earned with a 0.87 ERA versus conference foes and had a 23.1 scoreless inning streak. Petit still has yet to allow an earned run since his outing at Winthrop back on March 17 with just one unearned run coming across in a series win over USC Upstate.

Petit has also put himself among CSU’s greats in his rookie season with his 2.55 ERA, 11.97 K/9 innings, 5 saves and .161 opponent batting average – all top-10 single season records.

Jason Miller makes his second All-Big South team as a Buccaneer after first team honors in 2017 with 2019 coming as a second team member. Miller got hot at the plate in Big South play carrying a team and season-high 30-game on-base streak into the final week of the season and set the single-season walks record at 38 with his two free passes on Senior Day. Miller had a .287 average and team-best .406 on-base percentage while scoring 38 runs and hitting a career-best three home runs.

Miller started all 55 games for the Bucs in 2019 collecting 10 extra-base hits and slashed .360/.480/.500 in Big South games hitting all three longballs and drawing 22 walks. The senior Summerville, S.C. native also scored 19 of his 38 runs and drove-in 13 teammates across the Bucs’ conference games.

Junior southpaw Jaret Bennett enjoyed a career season in 2019 stepping into the Friday night role turning in 5.29 ERA across 68.0 innings of work. Bennett also tossed his first career complete game May 10 in a win over USC Upstate coming via a shutout. The junior from Federalsburg, Md. Also collected three wins over a career-best 13 starts on the mound while striking out 41 and holding opponents to a .291 average.


FIRST-TEAM ALL-CONFERENCE OF Matthew Barefoot, R-Jr., Campbell OF Hunter Lipscomb, Sr., Winthrop OF Jeff Taylor, Soph., USC Upstate INF Chandler Redmond, Sr., Gardner-Webb INF Ryan Stoudermire, Jr., Charleston Southern INF Luis Gimenez, Sr., Campbell INF Brandon Lankford, Jr., UNC Asheville C Justin Kunz, Sr., Gardner-Webb UTL Kyle Butler, R-Sr., Radford DH J.D. Mundy, Jr., Radford SP Michael Horrell, Sr., Campbell SP Ryan Chasse, Fr., Campbell SP Nate Pawelczyk, Sr., Winthrop RP RJ Petit, Fr., Charleston Southern RP Colten Rendon, Jr., Winthrop

SECOND-TEAM ALL-CONFERENCE OF Zacchaeus Rasberry, Jr., Presbyterian OF Andrew Szamski, R-Sr., Radford OF Nick Guimbarda, Sr., Presbyterian INF Travis Holt, Soph., High Point INF Collin Wolf, Jr., Campbell INF Jason Miller, Sr., Charleston Southern INF Danny Wilson, Sr., UNC Asheville C Spencer Yankle, Jr., Winthrop UTL Daniel Millwee, Sr., High Point DH J.J. Shimko, Sr., USC Upstate SP Zach Peek, Jr., Winthrop SP Jackson Dean, R-Jr., Presbyterian SP Harrison Smith, R-Jr., High Point RP Bruce Hudson, R-Fr., Radford RP Will Wheeler, Jr., USC Upstate

HONORABLE MENTION ALL-CONFERENCE Jimmy Marcelli, Jr., INF, Presbyterian Antwaun Tucker, Jr., INF, Longwood Eric Miles, Jr, SP, Presbyterian Spencer Horwitz, Jr., INF, Radford Austin Fahr, Sr., RP, UNC Asheville

ALL-ACADEMIC TEAM Wyatt Tyson, Jr., RP, Campbell Jaret Bennett, Jr., SP, Charleston Southern Chandler Redmond, Sr., 2B, Gardner-Webb Harrison Smith, R-Jr., RHP, High Point Carlos Garrido, Sr., C, Longwood Nick Guimbarda, Sr., OF, Presbyterian Straton Podaras, Jr., C, Radford Jordan Carr, Jr., P, UNC Asheville Jordan Marks, Soph., RHP, USC Upstate Hunter Lipscomb, Sr., OF, Winthrop

PLAYER OF THE YEAR Chandler Redmond, INF, Sr., Gardner-Webb

PITCHER OF THE YEAR Michael Horrell, SP, Sr., Campbell

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR Ryan Chasse, SP, Fr., Campbell

COACH OF THE YEAR Rusty Stroupe, Gardner-Webb

SCHOLAR-ATHLETE OF THE YEAR Nick Guimbarda, Sr., OF, Presbyterian