Lawson Named To Coaches Preseason All-SEC First Team

Lawson Named To Coaches Preseason All-SEC First Team
(Source: South Carolina Athletics)

COLUMBIA, S.C. - South Carolina sophomore guard AJ Lawson has been named to the Coaches Preseason All-SEC First Team, it was announced by the conference on Monday. Lawson is Carolina's top returning scorer and assist maker.

Lawson, who also earned All-SEC Freshman Team accolades from the coaches last March, posted 18 double-figure scoring games last season, and had eight games with five or more assists, while leading or sharing the team lead in scoring 12 times. Lawson had six contests with 20 or more points, including a season high 25 points vs. Coastal Carolina. In SEC action, Lawson had standout performances in several outings, including leading all scorers with 24 points in a come-from-behind road victory at Vanderbilt, including the game-winning free throws with under 30 seconds remaining. He also went 8-of-12 from the floor, behind four 3-pointers, with another 24-point effort in Carolina's home win over Arkansas, and connected on a season high six 3s in the comeback home win over Texas A&M.

South Carolina officially begins the 2019-20 campaign when it hosts North Alabama on Wednesday evening. Tip time is scheduled for 7 p.m. ET at Colonial Life Arena, with the contest set for broadcast on SEC Network+ and the Gamecock IMG Sports Network.

The coaches' preseason All-SEC First and Second teams consist of a minimum of eight players on each squad, voted on by the SEC basketball coaches. No ties were broken and no predicted order of finish was made.

A list of the 2020 SEC Men's Basketball Coaches Preseason All-SEC team follows:

First Team All-SEC

Kira Lewis Jr. - Alabama

Kerry Blackshear - Florida

Andrew Nembhard - Florida

Anthony Edwards - Georgia

Ashton Hagans - Kentucky

Skylar Mays - LSU

Breein Tyree - Ole Miss

Reggie Perry - Mississippi State

AJ Lawson - South Carolina

Second Team All-SEC

Isaiah Joe - Arkansas

Austin Wiley - Auburn

Tyrese Maxey - Kentucky

EJ Montgomery - Kentucky

Javonte Smart - LSU

Devontae Shuler - Ole Miss

Jeremiah Tilmon Jr. - Missouri

Jordan Bowden - Tennessee

Lamonté Turner - Tennessee

Savion Flagg - Texas A&M

Aaron Nesmith - Vanderbilt