Charleston mayor, councilmembers to be sworn in Monday

Charleston mayor, councilmembers to be sworn in Monday
Mayor John Tecklenburg. (Source: Live 5)

CHARLESTON, S.C. (WCSC) - Monday is the start of Mayor of Charleston, John Tecklenburg’s, second term as mayor.

He was sworn in along with six council members at a public inauguration ceremony on Monday on the steps of city hall.

Part of Broad Street was blocked off for seating for the ceremony.

Four newly elected council members that were sworn in include Marie Delcioppo, Jason Sakran, Karl Brady Jr., and Ross Appel.

Returning council members who are beginning a new term include Keith Waring and Peter Shahid.

The mayor and council members serve four-year terms.

They all had an opportunity to give speeches including Mayor Tecklenburg who gave a look back on some of his successes over the last four years and plans for the future.

The mayor says his four top priorities for the city are flooding and drainage, traffic and transportation, affordable housing and public safety.

“Let me simply say once again how grateful I am for this opportunity to serve my hometown," Tecklenburg said. "It is truly the honor of my life and I am every bit as excited at the prospect of heading through these doors with our council members and getting to work for our citizens as I was four years ago.”

The first City Council meeting for the newly-elected council members is Tuesday.

There was a reception in Washington Square following the ceremony. It was free and open to the public.

There are also ticketed events in the evening that include a sponsor reception and inauguration celebration at Cannon Street Arts Center.

Copyright 2020 WCSC. All rights reserved.