Gamecocks’ Wilson Earns PING All-America Honors

Gamecocks’ Wilson Earns PING All-America Honors
(South Carolina Athletics) (Source: South Carolina Athletics)

NORMAN, Okla. -- Senior Jamie Wilson was named a 2020 PING Honorable Mention All-American the Golf Coaches Association of America announced on Thursday. He becomes the 25th different Gamecock golfer in program history to garner All-America status.

Wilson recently earned a spot on the PING All-Southeast Region squad, marking the first post-season recognition of his career.

The four-year starter, who hails from Mount Pleasant, S.C., led the Gamecocks in scoring average (70.86), rounds of par or better (14) and top-20 finishes (5) during the shortened 2019-20 campaign. He finished in the top-10 three times in seven starts. Wilson T-4th at the J.T. Poston Invitational back in the fall after logging a career-best round of 203 (-10). He shot 64 (-7) in the second round, which T-4th lowest 18-hole score in program history, and helped the team break the 54-hole, school scoring record at 806 (-46). Wilson nearly won his first collegiate tournament in the regular season finale at the General Hackler Championship (March 9-10). He was in the lead on the back nine before a couple of bogeys late in the round and would ultimately finish sixth to pace the Gamecocks in Myrtle Beach.

Wilson boast a career scoring average of 72.55, which puts him seventh all-time at South Carolina. His 70.86 average in 2019-20 is the fifth-best mark in program history, trailing only four All-Americans in Will Starke (70.27), Matt NeSmith (70.51), Scott Stevens (70.59) and Keenan Huskey (70.63).

Since 2007 under head coach Bill McDonald, South Carolina has now garnered 19 All-America honors by nine different student-athletes. The program's all-time scoring average leader, Scott Stevens, was the most recent PING All-American a season ago earning a spot on the Third Team.

2020 NCAA Division I PING All-America Teams

First Team

John Augenstein, Vanderbilt

John Axelsen, Florida

Ricky Castillo, Florida

Quade Cummins, Oklahoma

Cooper Dossey, Baylor

Peter Kuest, BYU

William Mouw, Pepperdine

Trent Phillips, Georgia

Garett Reband, Oklahoma

Sahith Theegala, Pepperdine

Davis Thompson, Georgia

Second Team

Jonathan Brightwell, UNCG

Pierceson Coody, Texas

Austin Eckroat, Oklahoma State

Noah Goodwin, SMU

Evan Katz, Duke

Mac Meissner, SMU

Andy Ogletree, Georgia Tech

John Pak, Florida State

Adrien Pendaries, Duke

Mark Power, Wake Forest

Sandy Scott, Texas Tech

Third Team

Puwit Anupansuebsai, San Diego State

Devon Bling, UCLA

Sam Choi, New Mexico

Angus Flanagan, Minnesota

Christopher Gotterup, Rutgers

Walker Lee, Texas A&M

Yuxin Lin, Southern California

David Perkins, Illinois State

Jovan Rebula, Auburn

Cameron Sisk, Arizona State

Trevor Werbylo, Arizona

Honorable Mention

Sam Bennett, Texas A&M

Jacob Bridgeman, Clemson

Davis Bryant, Colorado State

William Buhl, Arkansas

Ryan Burnett, North Carolina

Parker Coody, Texas

Spencer Cross, Tennessee

Reid Davenport, Vanderbilt

Hunter Eichhorn, Marquette

Alex Fitzpatrick, Wake Forest

Ryan Gerard, North Carolina

Isaiah Jackson, Memphis

Johnny Keefer, Baylor

Jamie Li, Florida State

John Murphy, Louisville

Rhys Nevin, Tennessee

AJ Ott, Colorado State

Leo Oyo, San Diego State

William Paysee, Texas A&M

Rhett Rasmussen, BYU

Nolan Ray, Lipscomb

Jack Rhea, ETSU

Matthias Schmid, Louisville

Tyler Strafaci, Georgia Tech

Jack Trent, UNLV

Kieran Vincent, Liberty

Tim Widing, San Francisco

Jamie Wilson, South Carolina

Noah Woolsey, Washington

Jonathan Yuan, Liberty