Cougars Picked First By SoCon Coaches, Four Players Make All-SoCon Preseason Teams


The College of Charleston Cougars were tabbed as the top baseball team in the Southern Conference by a vote of the league's coaches, the conference office announced on Wednesday. 

In the annual preseason coaches poll, the Cougars narrowly edged out rival Georgia Southern with six first-place votes and one more point than the Eagles. Georgia Southern, the league's defending tournament champion, won the media vote while the College of Charleston was picked second. Samford and Elon landed in the third and fourth spots in each poll. 

The Cougars also sported four players on the coaches preseason All-SoCon squads with redshirt-sophomore Daniel Aldrich and junior Christian Powell making the first team. Seniors Marty Gantt and Josh Renfro were picked for the second team.

Georgia Southern's Victor Roache won the preseason Player of the Year nod, while teammate Chris Beck was tabbed as the preseason Pitcher of the Year.

College of Charleston finished 39-22 in 2011 and tied for third place in the Southern Conference with a league record of 18-12. The Cougars return the entire starting rotation in Powell, Renfro, Jake Zokan and David Peterson, who will move to the bullpen. College of Charleston will also look to its NCBWA Preseason First Team All-America selection in Aldrich to anchor the heart of the lineup and team with Gantt in the outfield. 

The Cougars open the season with a weekend series at South Alabama starting on Feb. 17 at 7:30 p.m. ET. The CofC home opener will come on Feb. 24 at 5 p.m. against Rhode Island as a part of the Cougar Invitational. Season and individual game tickets are available by calling 843-953-COFC.



2012 SoCon Baseball Preseason Coaches Poll

Place      School (First)                                 Points

1.            College of Charleston (6)              93

2.            Georgia Southern (4)                     92

3.            Samford (1)                                        83

4.            Elon                                                      76

5.            Appalachian State                           62

6.            Western Carolina                            51

7.            UNCG                                                  50

8.            The Citadel                                         33

9.            Furman                                               32

10.          Wofford                                              18

11.          Davidson                                            15


2012 SoCon Baseball Preseason Media Poll

Place      School (First)                                 Points

1.            Georgia Southern (20)                269

2.            College of Charleston (3)           246

3.            Elon (2)                                             220

4.            Samford                                           198

5.            UNCG                                               150

6.            Appalachian State                        149

7.            Western Carolina                          130

8.            The Citadel                                      112

9.            Furman                                               86

10.          Wofford                                              55

11.          Davidson                                            35


2012 SoCon Baseball Preseason All-Conference Team


Player of the Year – Victor Roache, Jr., OF, Georgia Southern

Pitcher of the Year – Chris Beck, Jr., RHP, Georgia Southern


First Team

SP       Chris Beck, Georgia Southern

SP       Christian Powell, College of Charleston

RP       Lex Rutledge, Samford

C         Trevor Edwards, UNCG

1B       Saxon Butler, Samford

2B       Ross Heffley, Western Carolina

SS       Eric Phillips, Georgia Southern

3B       Drew DeKerlegand, The Citadel

OF      Victor Roache, Georgia Southern

OF      Daniel Aldrich, College of Charleston

OF      Phillip Ervin, Samford

DH      Daniel Kassouf, Appalachian State


Second Team

SP       Ryan Arrowood, Appalachian State

SP       Josh Renfro, College of Charleston

RP       David Port, Appalachian State

C         Alex Swim, Elon

1B       Konstantine Diamaduros, Wofford

2B       Sebastian Gomez, Elon

SS       Aaron Attaway, Western Carolina

3B       Zack Briggs, Appalachian State

3B       (tie) Alex Abrams, Furman

OF      Marty Gantt, College of Charleston

OF      Nick Orvin, The Citadel

OF      Tyler Zupcic, Appalachian State

DH     Taylor Johnson, Furman