Groselle Named to All-Southern Conference Team

SPARTANBURG, SC - The Citadel's Mike Groselle earned all-conference honors from the Southern Conference on Tuesday following a balloting of the league's head coaches.

Groselle placed in the top three in five league categories this season including rebounding (1st, 9.8 rpg), offensive rebounds (1st, 3.6 rpg), defensive rebounds (2nd, 6.2 rpg), scoring (3rd, 16.6 ppg.) and  field goal percentage (3rd, 59.1%).

Among his many accomplishments this season, Groselle posted 14 double-doubles to place himself alongside former standout Regan Truesdale for the program's career mark of 22. He eclipsed the double-double mark on 14 occasions this season, eclipsing the previous mark of 13 set by Patrick Elmore during the 1989-90 season.

The Plano, Texas' native knocked down 114-of-193 field goal attempts to score 299 points against SoCon opposition. Groselle was also successful on 71-of-100 (71.0%) of his free throw attempts. Defensively, his 28 steals placed him with the sixth highest average of any player in the conference (1.6). Groselle was also responsible for 11 blocks.

As for other award winners, Davidson Head Coach Bob McKillop was named the league's Coach of the Year, while the Wildcats' sophomore forward De'Mon Brooks was named the 2012 Player of the Year.

A pair of Wofford Terriers were also honored as senior Brad Loesing was named the Defensive Player of the Year, while guard Karl Cochran was named the league's Freshman of the Year.

Brooks becomes the third Wildcat to be named the Player of the Year by the league's coaches, joining Brendan Winters (2005) and Stephen Curry (2008-09).  The Charlotte, N.C., native ranks fourth in the league in scoring with 15.8 points per game and is ninth in rebounding with 6.3 rebounds per contest.  Brooks also ranks sixth in the league in field goal percentage (.533).  He is one of just three players in the league to rank in the top ten of all three categories.  Davidson's leading scorer this season, he has scored at least 20 points in nine games this year, including a season high of 26 at The Citadel on February 9.

McKillop earned the league's Coach of the Year Award for the seventh time after guiding the Wildcats to a 22-7 (16-2 SoCon) record.  Davidson won the South Division title and is one of two No. 1 seeds for this week's Southern Conference Tournament.  In his 23rd season as head coach at Davidson, McKillop recorded his tenth 10-win season with the Wildcats.

Loesing won the league's Defensive Player of the Year Award after a solid all-around senior campaign for the Terriers.  One of the top on-ball defenders in the league, the senior also distinguished himself as one of the more durable players in the conference, averaging a league-high 38.3 minutes per game.  Loesing started all 31 games for the Terriers and helped Wofford post a 12-6 mark in league play, good for a second-place tie in the South Division.

Cochran was the league's top-scoring freshman this season, averaging 11.2 points per game.  He was the third-leading scorer for the Terriers and scored in double figures in 18 games.  Cochran started 25 of 31 games for the Terriers and finished second on the team in assists and third in rebounding.

College of Charleston's Antwaine Wiggins and Trent Wiedeman garnered all-conference honors.  They were joined by Davidson's Jake Cohen and Brooks, along with Wofford's Kevin Giltner and Loesing.  Also earning All-SoCon honors were Mike Groselle of The Citadel, Elon's Jack Isenbarger, and sophomores Eric Ferguson of Georgia Southern and Trevis Simpson of UNCG.  A total of seven schools had at least one player on the all-conference team.

Cochran garnered a spot on the all-freshman team where he was joined by Adjehi Baru (College of Charleston), Austin Hamilton (Elon), Tyler Hood (Samford) and Raijon Kelly (Samford).

The Citadel opens the 2012 Southern Conference Men's Basketball Tournament on Friday afternoon when they take on Western Carolina at approximately 2:00 p.m. For more information on Bulldog basketball, visit the official website of The Citadel Athletics at

2012 SoCon Men's Basketball Awards

All-Conference Team
Trent Wiedeman, College of Charleston
Antwaine Wiggins, College of Charleston
Mike Groselle, The Citadel
De'Mon Brooks, Davidson
Jake Cohen, Davidson
Jack Isenbarger, Elon
Eric Ferguson, Georgia Southern
Trevis Simpson, UNCG
Kevin Giltner, Wofford
Brad Loesing, Wofford

All-Freshman Team
Adjehi Baru, College of Charleston
Austin Hamilton, Elon
Tyler Hood, Samford
Raijon Kelly, Samford
Karl Cochran, Wofford

Player of the Year
De'Mon Brooks, So., F, Davidson

Defensive Player of the Year
Brad Loesing, Sr., G, Wofford

Freshman of the Year
Karl Cochran, G, Wofford

Coach of the Year
Bob McKillop, Davidson