Groselle Named Second Team All-Conference by SoCon Media

CHARLESTON, SC - The Citadel's Mike Groselle earned second team all-conference accolades from members of the Southern Conference Sports Media Association on Wednesday.

Groselle capped off the 2011-12 season as the first Bulldog to ever lead the conference in rebounding, posting 176 boards (9.8 rpg) against league opposition.

He amassed 14 double figure rebounding contests on the season, including eight against SoCon opponents. Among those double-digit rebounding performances was a career-high 19- against College of Charleston on Dec. 1. The junior also scored 20 points to become the third Bulldog to post 20 points and 19 boards in a double-double effort in program history.

Groselle also recorded seven double-doubles against foes from the SoCon, including three in the final month of the regular season against Davidson, Western Carolina and College of Charleston.

Among the league's top individual award winners were Davidson junior Jake Cohen, who  was chosen as the Malcolm U. Pitt Player of the Year.  UNCG's Wes Miller was named the league's Anton Foy Coach of the Year, while Wofford's Karl Cochran was named the Freshman of the Year.

Cohen turned in a strong all-around season for the Wildcats.  The junior from Berwyn, Pa., ranks tenth in the league in scoring (13.9 ppg), eleventh in rebounding (6.0 rpg), twelfth in field goal percentage (.477), second in free throw shooting (.878) and leads the league in blocked shots (1.5 bpg).  Davidson won its eleventh division crown with a 16-2 mark in league play.  Cohen started in 28 of Davidson's 29 games and finished the regular season with seven games of at least 20 points and four games of at least 10 rebounds.

Miller was elevated to interim head coach at UNCG on December 13.  The youngest Division head coach in the country at 29 years old, Miller led the Spartans to a 10-8 record in the SoCon and captured the North Division championship, marking the first time the Spartans have won the division outright.  UNCG's 10 league wins was its highest win total in conference play since the 2008 season.  The Spartans strung together seven consecutive wins from mid-January into early February as part of their run during the second half of the season.

The league's media association also selected three all-conference teams.  Cohen earned first team honors along with teammate De'Mon Brooks.  They were joined by Eric Ferguson (Georgia Southern), Trevis Simpson (UNCG) and Brad Loesing (Wofford) on the first team.

Groselle (The Citadel), Andrew Lawrence (College of Charleston), Antwaine Wiggins (College of Charleston), Jack Isenbarger (Elon) and Kevin Giltner (Wofford) were named to the league's second team.

The all-conference third team consists of Trent Wiedeman (College of Charleston), Nik Cochran (Davidson), Willie Powers (Georgia Southern), Derrell Armstrong (UNCG) and Drew Windler (Samford).

In voting that mirrored the coach's selection on Tuesday, Wofford's Karl Cochran was named the league's Freshman of the Year.  A starter in 25 of Wofford's 31 games, Cochran was third on the team in scoring and led all SoCon freshmen with 11.2 points per game.  Cochran also led the Terriers and ranked eighth in the league in steals (1.4 spg).

The Citadel opens the 2012 Southern Conference Men's Basketball Tournament on Friday afternoon when they take on Western Carolina at approximately 2:00 p.m. For more information on Bulldog basketball, visit the official website of The Citadel Athletics at

2012 Men's SoCon Sports Media Association Awards

All-Conference First Team
De'Mon Brooks, Davidson
Jake Cohen, Davidson
Eric Ferguson, Georgia Southern
Trevis Simpson, UNCG
Brad Loesing, Wofford

All-Conference Second Team
Mike Groselle, The Citadel
Andrew Lawrence, College of Charleston
Antwaine Wiggins, College of Charleston
Jack Isenbarger, Elon
Kevin Giltner, Wofford

All-Conference Third Team
Trent Wiedeman, College of Charleston
Nik Cochran, Davidson
Willie Powers III, Georgia Southern
Derrell Armstrong, UNCG
Drew Windler, Samford

All-Freshman Team
Adjehi Baru, College of Charleston
Austin Hamilton, Elon
Tyler Hood, Samford
Raijon Kelly, Samford
Karl Cochran, Wofford

Malcolm U. Pitt Player of the Year
Jake Cohen, Jr., F, Davidson

Freshman of the Year
Karl Cochran, Fr., G, Wofford

Anton Foy Coach of the Year
Wes Miller, UNCG