Stratford's Park Named A Mr. Football Finalist

Published: Mar. 29, 2014 at 10:19 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

COLUMBIA—Thefield of players vying for the title of South Carolina's top highschool football player is down to five. The South Carolina AthleticsCoaches Association selected the finalists for the 2013 Mr.Footballaward Tuesday. The introduction of this year's winner occursDecember 14 during a halftime presentation of the Touchstone EnergyCooperatives Bowl in Myrtle Beach.

Finalistsfor the 2013 Mr.Footballaward

  • Christian Miller-Linebacker

SpringValley High School/Columbia

Committedto the University of Alabama

  • Jae'lon Oglesby-Running back

DanielHigh School/Central, SC

Committedto the University of Clemson

  • Jacob Park-Quarterback

StratfordHigh School/Goose Creek

Committedto the University of Georgia

  • Mason Rudolph-Quarterback

NorthwesternHigh School/Rock Hill

Committedto Oklahoma State University

  • Donell Stanley-Lineman

LattaHigh School/Latta, SC

Committedto the University of South Carolina

TheSC Athletic Coaches Association officially established the Mr.Footballaward in 1995. The announcement of the winner is part of the weeklongactivities surrounding the annual all-star football game.

"Wecreated the award to bring some excitement and attention to theall-star game," says Keith Richardson, co-director of theTouchstone Energy Cooperatives Bowl. "It's probably brought us asmuch attention as anything we've ever done."

Formerrecipients of South Carolina's Mr.Footballaward

1995 JermaleKelley, WR Berea South Carolina, NFL Europe— Berlin/Rhein

1996 KyleYoung, OL Daniel Clemson

1997 ChrisHope, DB Rock Hill Florida State, Pittsburgh Steelers/Tennessee Titans

1998 DerekWatson, RB Palmetto South Carolina, Tampa Bay Buccaneers Calgary Stampeders

1999 MarkLogan, QB Greenwood Georgia Tech

2000 RoscoeCrosby, WR Union Clemson

2001 MoeThompson, DE Stratford South Carolina

2002 EricMcCollom, QB Camden Iowa

2003 TreyElder, QB Byrnes Appalachian State

2004 J.D.Melton, QB Myrtle Beach Navy

2005 PrinceMiller, DB Byrnes Georgia , Baltimore Ravens/Detroit Lions

2006 MalcolmLong, QB Gaffney South Carolina State

2007 RichardMounce, QB Blythewood Charleston Southern

2008 StephonGilmore, CB South Pointe South Carolina, Buffalo Bills

2009 MarcusLattimore, RB Byrnes South Carolina, San Francisco 49ers

2010 JadeveonClowney, DE South Pointe South Carolina

2011 ShaqRoland, WR Lexington South Carolina

2012 Tramel Terry, WR Goose Creek Georgia