Medal Of Honor Bowl Sends Out 1st Invitations

Published: Oct. 25, 2013 at 7:25 PM EDT|Updated: Apr. 26, 2014 at 7:11 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

CHARLESTON, SC - Players from Clemson, South Carolina and a North Charleston native are among the 1st 25 players to receive invitations for the inaugural Medal of Honor Bowl.

The game will be played January 11th at The Citadel's Johnson Hagood Stadium.

Clemson quarterback Tajh Boyd is probably the biggest name to receive one of the first invitations. The Tiger signal caller has thrown for almost 2000 yards and 16 touchdowns this season. One of his offensive lineman, Brandon Thomas, is also on the list.

South Carolina's Connor Shaw also gets an invite. The Gamecocks QB has thrown for over 1300 yards with 16 TD's and just 1 INT this season.

The big local name on the initial list is Newberry WR Corey Washington. A North Charleston native, Washington has 22 catches for over 400 yards and 6 touchdowns on the year.

Washington is one of the first players that has committed to play in the Medal of Honor Bowl. Also already set to play in the Lowcountry is Wake Forest WR Michael Campanaro and Colorado Safety Parker Orms.

Campanaro has 55 catches for over 700 yards and 5 touchdowns on the year. Orms has 35 tackles for the Buffaloes on the season.

The complete list of invitees is as follows:

1.Michael Campanaro WR Wake Forest

2.Daniel Riley DE Harding

3.Parker Orms FS Colorado

4.Connor Shaw QB South Carolina

5.Trey Watts RB Tulsa

6.Timothy Flanders RB Sam Houston State

7.Matt Hazell WR Coastal Carolina

8.Corey Washington Jr. Newberry

9.Khalil Mack LB Buffalo

10.Daniel Sorensen SS BYU

11.Chase Dixon TE Central Arkansas

12.Cornelius Lucas OT Kansas State

13.LaDarius Perkins RB Mississippi State

14.Pierre Desir CB Lindenwood

15.Brandon Dixon CB Northwest Missouri

16.Jerick McKinnon CB/RB Georgia Southern

17.Cody Bauer DE Rice

18.Xavius Boyd LB Western Kentucky

19.Ryan Grant WR Tulane

20.Brandon Thomas OL Clemson

21.Dakota Dozier OT Furman

22.Charles Sawyer CB Ole Miss

23.Jordan Lynch QB Northern Illinois

24.Tajh Boyd QB Clemson

25.Arthur Lynch TE Georgia