Medal of Honor Bowl Adds Sam Wyche to Its National Board of Directors

Medal of Honor Bowl Adds Sam Wyche to Its National Board of Directors

CHARLESTON, SC - Former college and NFL head coach Sam Wyche has been added to the Medal of Honor Bowl's national board of directors, according to bowl chairman Tommy McQueeney.

"The Medal of Honor Bowl national board is profoundly enhanced with the addition of Sam Wyche," said McQueeney. "Our goal to become the very best postseason senior all-star game in America is a step closer to reality because of Coach Wyche's selfless participation. At the top level of football, he is among the most respected and knowledgeable figures anywhere. I am personally grateful for his thoughtful contributions already."

The mission of the Medal of Honor Bowl's national board of directors is to assist and support the Medal of Honor Bowl in their quest to become the premier senior college football all-star game in America. The board serves as the national emissaries of the weeklong event and will be conversant in the scope and purpose of the game, to include the designated beneficiaries, the National Medal of Honor Museum Foundation and the Wounded Warriors Project.

Wyche is a former Furman University quarterback and former head coach for the Cincinnati Bengals and Tampa Bay Buccaneers. Perhaps best known for introducing the use of the no-huddle offense as a standard offense, Wyche's greatest achievement as a head coach was leading the Cincinnati Bengals to Super Bowl XXIII, which they lost to the San Francisco 49ers, 20–16, relinquishing the lead with only 34 seconds remaining.

Wyche's 64 wins with the Bengals were the most by a coach in franchise history until 2011, when he was surpassed by Marvin Lewis.

Wyche also played for the Washington Redskins, Detroit Lions and St. Louis Cardinals. He coached collegiately at the University of South Carolina and Indiana University, and for the 49ers, Tampa Bay Buccaneers, and Buffalo Bills of the NFL.

He enjoyed a broadcasting career that included stints with NBC, CBS, Westwood One, and the Southern Conference Football Network on Fox SportSouth.

Wyche joins previously announced board members that include General Ed Rice (USAF retired), former Commander Air Education & Training Command; Lt. General John Sams (USAF Ret.) of Boeing; Maj. General James E. Livingston (USMC Ret.) of Mt. Pleasant and a recipient of the Medal of Honor for his heroics in Vietnam.

Also on the national board include actor Ed Marinaro, a former Heisman Trophy runner-up while at Cornell University and star of the hit television show Hill Street Blues; NCAA Hall of Fame football coach Fisher DeBerry, a South Carolina native who coached the Air Force Academy; former US Olympic Executive Director Harvey Schiller; baseball executive and local resident Mike Veeck; Nancy Mace, a consultant with The Mace Group who was The Citadel's first female graduate in 2000, and McQueeney round out the board.

The inaugural Medal of Honor Bowl was held on Jan. 11, 2013, at Johnson Hagood Stadium with the American Team, coached by Ralph Friedgen, topped coach Chan Gailey's National Team, 20-3. The 2015 game will be played on Saturday, January 10.