Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame Releases 2015 Candidates

Published: May. 28, 2015 at 1:34 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

CHARLESTON, SC - The Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame's advisory committee has released its candidates for the Class of 2015, and enshrinement will be conducted by voting from local fans.

The Committee also announced that fans will select the two that collect the most votes while the committee will vote in one member. Official ballots will be at Riley Park beginning on June 1 and on-line voting will also be available via a link posted at

Voting will conclude on Friday, July 24. On Friday, Aug. 7, the top two individuals with the most votes will be inducted prior to the RiverDogs' game against the Savannah SandGnats.

The Charleston Baseball Hall of Fame is coordinated and operated by the Charleston RiverDogs. An advisory committee consisting of knowledgeable local volunteers was created to come up with the names as potential nominees. The Hall of Fame is located inside Joseph P. Riley, Jr. Park.

The finalists, in alphabetical order, for the Class of 2015:

· H.A. "Pete" Ayoub is a Charleston native who was a three-year starter at Clemson; a First-Team All-ACC second baseman as a senior and hit .318 for his career; returned to North Charleston High to coach and led his baseball teams to state championships from 1965-67 (the first time any team had won three consecutive baseball championships in South Carolina); served as Executive Director of the S.C. High School League from 1986 until his retirement in 1998.

· Chris Campbell played second base for the College of Charleston from 2004-07; Campbell ranks as the program's all-time leader in games played (240), hits (355), doubles (79) and RBIs (290). In 2007, Campbell led the nation in RBIs per game with 1.41; Campbell's 87 RBIs in 2005 rank second all-time in Southern Conference history; his Campbell's 290 career RBIs are tied for first in SoCon history, while his 355 career hits are tied for second in the league record books. Campbell was the 2004 SoCon Freshman of the Year, while earning First Team All-SoCon honors in 2005 and Second Team All-Conference accolades in 2004, 2006 and 2007; played on the Cougars first three NCAA Regional teams; the only player in Southern Conference history to record two seasons of at least 100 hits.

· John Chalus coached baseball for 28 years at Stratford High before being promoted to the position of Athletic Director in 2014. He served as head baseball coach from 1992-2014; was 463-192 as a head coach and averaged 20 wins per season; won seven region championships; the 1996, 2004, and 2005 teams were Lower State Champions; the 1996 and 2005 teams were AAAA state champions; 12 of his players were Major League draft picks, including Matt Wieters and Justin Smoak; named region Coach of the Year six times, and Lowcountry Coach of the Year five times; named 2005 Coach of the Year by SCACA.

· Lee Curtis hit .404 in his two years which is still the College of Charleston's all-time career mark and ranks third in Southern Conference history; his career slugging percentage of .742 and his 20 career triple lead the SoCon and school record books; won the SoCon Player of the Year award in 2002 and 2003. Curtis earned All-America honors from Collegiate Baseball and the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association in 2002 and 2003. In 2003, Curtis batted .399 with 11 homers, 64 RBI and 20 stolen bases and was the only player in college baseball to have double-figure totals in homers, doubles (26), triples (11), RBI and stolen bases. Curtis was drafted in the 8th round by the Boston Red Sox in 2003.

· Kiki Cuyler is a member of the National Baseball Hall of Fame (elected in 1968), one of only two former Charleston minor league players so enshrined (Roberto Alomar is the other); played for the Charleston Pals in 1922 (131 games) at Hampton Park; was a big league outfielder for 18 seasons (1921-38) with the Pirates, Cubs, Reds and Brooklyn Dodgers; burst into the Pirates lineup in 1924, batting .354 as a rookie and the next year led the NL in triples (26), and runs (144), batted .357 while leading the Pirates to the World Series; later led the NL in runs (113) and stolen bases (35); hit over .300 10 times in his career; deceased.

· John Pawlowski is a former Clemson pitcher who reached the majors with the Chicago White Sox (1-0 MLB record); former College of Charleston head coach and led the Cougars to three consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances, the first three in school history (2004-2006), and a Super Regional in 2006; he signed and coached many standout Cougars, including Brett Gardner of the Yankees; left College of Charleston to become the head coach at Auburn; now the pitching coach at San Diego State.

· Torre Tyson, a Mt. Pleasant resident, is the winningest manager in Charleston RiverDogs history having amassed a 232-186 (.556 percentage) record including a high of 80 wins during the 2008 season; played second base in the minor leagues and at the University of Missouri; was the RiverDogs' hitting coach in 2005-2006; currently works for the Scott Boras Agency.


2014 – Reese Havens

David Hoffman

Billy Swails, Jr.

2013 – Steven Jackson

Drew Meyer

Britt Reames

2012 – Gettys Glaze

Tom Hatley

John Rhodes

2011 – Bill Ackerman

Roberto Alomar

Mike Kimbrell

2010 – Lee Glaze

Fred Jordan

D.K. Walters

Kenny Wilkinson

2009 – John Dodds, Jr.

W.S. "Bull" Durham

Donald Morillo

Doug Pounder

2008 – Bryce Florie

Danny Jones

Charley Smith

Richard Wieters

2007 – 1955 Cannon Street YMCA All-Star Team

1990 Citadel World Series Team

Anthony Jenkins

Modie Risher

2006 – Ty Cline

Mike Cook

Gary McJunkin

Chal Port

2005 – John Candelaria

2004 – David Cone

2003 – Willie Randolph

Gorman Thomas